- Quick Links
- Academics (Credit)
- Continuing Education (Non-Credit)
- HCC Portal
- Student Email
- College Central Network
- Emergency Alert Sign-Up
- Transcript Requests
- Alumni Association
- HCC Foundation
- Administrator on Duty
- Directions and Maps
- News and Events
Frequently Asked Questions about Drivers Education
1. How much do your classes cost?
Our classes are $287 per student, which is among the lowest cost in the Tri-State area. You don't need to spend more for a quality program.
2. Are there any possible extra costs?
All classroom sessions (10 3-hour sessions) and behind the wheel lessons (3 2-hour lessons) are included in the course fee. If a student needs extra behind-the-wheel time, there is a small cost for extra lesson(s).
3. Can I get a refund if I can't attend the class?
If a class has begun, we will gladly transfer a student to a future course. If that is impossible, a pro-rated refund will be given based on the number of classroom hours and driving hours not attended.
If the class has not begun, you will receive a 100% refund.
4. If I lose my Driver Education class book, do I have to pay for it?
There is a $25 fee to replace a lost, mutilated, or otherwise unuseable classroom textbook.
1. Where can I take HCC driver education courses?
HCC offers driver education courses at two locations: HCC main campus on Robinwood Drive, and HCC Valley Mall Campus near JCPenney and the mall offices. Both locations offer classes to suit almost every schedule. Please check our web site for the most up-to-date course schedule. http://www.hagerstowncc.edu/coned/areas/driving/drivers-education
Taking Driver Education
1. Do I need a learner's permit to take driver education?
At HCC, we require a valid Learner's Permit to enroll and take driver education. The learner's permit is required to complete the entire driver education course and is Maryland state law.
2. How old must I be to take driver education?
According to Maryland law, a student must be a minimum of 15 years old. Here at HCC, we require a valid learner's permit, which a student can not obtain until a minimum of 15 years and 9 months of age. So we kindly request you not register your student until they have reached the minimum age to qualify for and obtain a valid learner's permit.
3. I'm over 18 years of age - do I have to take driver education?
Yes, any driver obtaining their first driving license, regardless of age, must take driver education from a certified and licensed school. By the way, there is no maximum age for a driver education student. We've taught students from 15 years and 9 months of age up to 73 years young!
4. How old must I be to get a learner's permit?
You must be a minimum 15 years and 9 months of age to qualify for a learner's permit. Learner's permits are issued at the State of Maryland MVA. HCC does not and can not issue learner's permits.
5. I missed a classroom session; what do I do?
It is imperative that a student attend and participate in ALL classroom sessions. Missing class is detrimental to the student and will negatively affect their progress in class. According to Maryland Law, students are required to attend a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction. If ANY time is missed, it must be made up. If a student misses too much time (according to state of Maryland law), the student WILL have to start over from the first class and pay a new course fee.
**If a student misses the FIRST class, they can not continue in the session and must be scheduled into another course. All students MUST ATTEND the FIRST CLASS.
6. I have a disability; is there help availble?
HCC is proud to offer disability services as part of our campus services. If you need an interpreter, have a reading disability, or you are concerned that you'll need some form of assistance for a disability, please call the Disabilities Services Coordinator at 240-500-2273 for a confidental discussion on how we can assist you.
7. I don't live in Maryland; can I take Driver Education at HCC?
Sure, we have had students from other states take driver education at HCC. But, you must be aware of your state's requirements for driver traning/licensing - which can be dramatically different than the state of Maryland's requirements. Check your state's DMV/MVA website for more information on requirements specific for your state of residence.
Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) Driving Lessons
1. How much behind-the-wheel driving lesson time will I receive?
Each student is required by Maryland Law to receive a minimum of 6 hours of interactive, BTW training. Our lessons are administered in 3 2-hour lessons or as needed based on student abilities or disabilities.
2. When can I take my behind-the-wheel lessons?
A student can take BTW lessons between 8am and 9pm, 7 days a week. Each BTW lesson will be scheduled based on student/instructor/vehicle availability. Our super instructors can help meet any schedule you might have. We are not able to offer more than one BTW lesson in a 24-hour period per student.
3. What kind of car will I drive for my behind the wheel lesson?
HCC has 2 2009 Honda Civic Hatchback vehicles. You can see a picture of our actual BTW vehicle on the main driver education page.
4. Where do I go for my behind-the-wheel lessons?
All BTW lessons, regardless of where you take your classroom sessions, originate at the HCC main campus, in front of the Career Programs Building - next to the big water fountain and large rocks. We do not pick up students at home, work, etc.
5. How many students will be in the car when I do my behind-the-wheel lesson?
During a BTW lesson, only a single (1) student and the driver education instructor will be in the car. No multiple students, no kids crammed in the back, no distractions. Quality is what we are all about!
6. What if I miss a behind-the-wheel lesson?
We kindly ask that you give 24 hours' notice directly to your BTW instructor if you must miss a BTW lesson. If proper notice is not given, there is a $30 reschedule fee that must be paid before the next BTW lesson will be allowed to proceed.
1. Are your instructors qualified?
All of our instructors are licensed and certified by the State of Maryland to teach Driver Education, with many of them certified and licensed to teach a variety of other MVA courses to meet your needs. We have the experienced instructors you are looking for to help your student learn the skills they need to be a safer driver.
I've Got More Questions
1. What do I do if I have more questions?
Call registration at 240-500-2236 at any time.