Music/Theater/Dance

Kreykenbohm Lecture Series

HCC will host the annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series on Thursday, November 16, beginning at 7 p.m., in the Kepler Center’s Black Box Theater. A celebrated performer of Japanese shakuhachi and Western flute, Nora Nohraku Suggs will present a lecture/demonstration of the music, history, and cultural traditions of shakuhachi (Japanese bamboo flute). The event is free and open to the public.

Date:
Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 7:00pm

Doctor Faustus

Date:
Friday, March 23, 2018 - 8:00pm
Saturday, March 24, 2018 - 8:00pm
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 2:30pm

An Evening of One Acts

Students in Hagerstown Community College’s introduction to theater class will perform two one-act plays in the Kepler Black Box Theater at HCC on Nov. 3 and 4 at 8 p.m., and Nov. 5 at 2:30 p.m. These plays explore the power and emotion of poetry.

Date:
Friday, November 3, 2017 - 8:00pm
Saturday, November 4, 2017 - 8:00pm
Sunday, November 5, 2017 - 2:30pm

An Evening of Guitar

HCC will hold “An Evening of Guitar,” on Thursday, Oct. 5, at 7 p.m., in the Student Center. The concert will feature local musicians Danny Webber and Candice Mowbray with special guests Arnie Helmick on bass and Edgar Myers on drums.

This event is free and open to the public. For more information, contact the HCC Student Activities Office at 240-500-2225.

Date:
Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 7:00pm

Day of Theater

Share and explore a variety of workshops dedicated to the world of theater, dance, and voice on Saturday, May 6 from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. This event is free to HCC students and high school juniors and seniors.

For more information, contact Robin Shaner at rlshaner@hagerstowncc.edu.

Date:
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 8:00am

HCC Ensembles Concert

This concert will be held in the Kepler Theater at 7:00pm, and is free of charge. The HCC Wind Ensemble will be playing selections from Mozart, Pachelbel and Leontovych; the HCC String Ensemble will be playing selections from Bach, Gluck and Boyce; and the HCC Jazz Ensemble will be performing Jazz standards including compositions from Gershwin, Jobim, and Dizzy Gillespie.

Date:
Monday, December 5, 2016 - 7:00pm