HCC honors academic achievement in year-end ceremony

(May 16, 2005) - Hagerstown Community College held its third annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, May 12, 2005, in the Athletic, Recreation, and Community Center. The event recognized dean’s list honors, special awards, Phi Theta Kappa award winners and graduation honors.

Following remarks from HCC President Guy Altieri, attendees heard from Carole Richardson, director of instruction; Elaine Ashby, assistant professor of biology and chemistry; and two students, Thomas Crawford and Kevin Skrabak.

The awards were presented by the chairs of the academic divisions and recognized by Altieri and the board of trustees. Winners of the competitive awards include Tiffany M. Kerns of Cumberland, Md., for the HCC Alumni Community Citation Award; Viviane A. Abissi of Hagerstown and Sandra J. Wheeler of Falling Waters, W.Va., for the Award for Personal and Professional Growth in Nursing; Darlene G. Crowley of Boonsboro, Raymond T. Wharton of Smithsburg, Heather M. White of Hagerstown, Kandyce L. Spurrier of Williamsport, Debra K. Lanzendorfer of Williamsport, Shelby A. Imes of Hagerstown, Anthony T. Campello of Hagerstown, Anthony L. Early of Chambersburg, Pa., Jonathan D. Lent of Williamsport, Amy E. Rose of Clear Spring, Donald R. Snyder of Greencastle, Pa., Barbara S. Moats of Hagerstown, Katharine H. Seiler of Chambersburg, Pa., Amanda G. Comer of Waynesboro, Pa., Jon D. Snyder of Smithsburg, Dara V. Phillips of Maugansville and Megan N. Bishop of Williamsport, for the Career Program Awards of Excellence; Gretchen A. McCoy of Sharpsburg, for the College Community Service Award; Thomas S. Crawford of Funkstown, for the Commendation for Academic Excellence in Mathematics; Leslie A. Light and Heather M. Lundberg, both of Hagerstown, for the Commendation for Academic Excellence in Science; Susan A. Babcock of Cumberland, Md., for the Commendation for Outstanding Science Graduate; Effie B. Tetteh of Frederick, for the Homewood Spirit of Long Term Care Nursing; Erin L. Schaeffer of Smithsburg, for the Judith Kofoet Professionalism Award for Radiography; Jonathan D. Pentz of Waynesboro, Pa., for the Lowry Johnson Award of Excellence in Radiography; Anthony T. Campello, for the Maryland Academic Team for Community and Junior Colleges-2005; Ashley N. Eisentrout of Smithsburg, for the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists Ted Lynch Award; Christy L. Beattie of Williamsport and Christine E. Hawkins of Boonsboro, for the Nurses Alumni Association of Washington County Hospital; Ashley K. Palmer of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Scholar Athlete Award; Jacquelyn A. Simmons of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Education; Meghan K. Hobby of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Psychology; Jon D. Snyder, for the Paramedic Emergency Services Outstanding Graduate Award; Anthony T. Campello, for the Phi Theta Kappa Award; Brandi R. Kline of Hagerstown, for the Robinwood Players Drama Award; Chad E. Mullenix of Hedgesville, W.Va. for the Silver Key, Scholastic Honor Award, The American Criminal Justice System; Deanna E. Fedorczyk of Waynesboro, Pa., for the Spirit of Nursing Award – U.S. Army Nurse Corps; Alexis D. Shingleton of Clear Spring, for the Student Government Association Award; Sarah E. Harshman of Myersville, Md., and Amy N. Wenerd of Boonsboro, for the Washington County Medical Society Awards; and Rachael R. Palmer of Gerrardstown, W.Va., for the William Dale Clopper Human Kindness Award.

The Class of 2005 recipients of awards for the highest academic average (4.0) were Christy L. Beattie, Elizabeth K. Brucksch of Smithsburg, Thomas S. Crawford, Christine E. Hawkins, Heather Lundberg, A. Duane Matthews of Corriganville, Md., Gretchen A. McCoy, Gayle C. McCrossin of Sharpsburg, Jason L. Mellott of Hagerstown, Megan L. Miller of Boonsboro, Jacquelyn A. Simmons, Bradley A. Stotlemyer of Keedysville, Heather J. Sutton of Big Pool, and Vicki West of Clear Spring.