HCC honors students' academic achievements

(May 18, 2007) - Hagerstown Community College held its fifth annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, May 17, 2007, in the Athletic, Recreation, and Community Center. The event recognized special awards, Phi Theta Kappa membership, graduation honors, Maryland Zeta Chapter of Lambda Nu for Radiologic Sciences membership, and dean’s list honors.
Following remarks from HCC President Guy Altieri, attendees heard from Judith Oleks, vice president of academic affairs; Terrie Angle, professor of English as a second language and foreign languages; and two students, Danielle Shives and Richard Oldfield.
The awards were presented by Carolyn Albright, director of health sciences, and Judith Peisen, chair of mathematics and science, and recognized by Altieri and the HCC board of trustees.

Winners of the competitive awards include Michelle L. Donegan and Kimberly M. Vocke, both of Hagerstown, for the All-Maryland Academic Team for Community Colleges; Ashley R. Staubs of Mont Alto, PA, for the Alumni Association Life Membership Award; Cassandra P. (Moser) Weaver of Smithsburg, for the Alumni Association Community Citation Award; Kristy D. Payne of Mercersburg, PA, and Amy J. Frye of Hagerstown, for the Award for Personal and Professional Growth in Nursing; Joseph B. Nelson of Hagerstown for the Campus Leadership Award, Phi Theta Kappa Award, and the College Community Service Award; Jeremy K. Bonebrake of Hagerstown, Michael S. DeFreytas of Knoxville, MD, and Christopher L. Cacciola of Cavetown for the Commendation for Academic Excellence in Mathematics and Science; Courtney M. Robinson of Clear Spring for the Commendation for Outstanding Science Graduate; Dulat Zhandossov of Middletown, MD, for the David Wayne Moser Memorial Award; Jayne M. (Cramer) Ogg of Hagerstown for the Homewood Spirit of Long Term Care Nursing Award; Vickie A. Brunner of Hagerstown for the Judith Kofoet Professionalism Award for Radiography and the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists Ted Lynch Award; Lori A. Giombetti of Taneytown, MD, for the Lowry Johnson Award of Excellence in Radiography; Susan E. Miles of Williamsport for the Nurses Alumni Association of Washington County Hospital School of Nursing Award; Marisa N. Elliott of Hagerstown and Matthew L. Umberger of Hummelstown, PA, for the Outstanding Scholar Athlete Award; Danielle K. Shives of Big Pool for the Outstanding Student in Education; Beverly K. Murphy of Hagerstown for the Outstanding Student in Human Services; Katie D. Dingee of Williamsport for the Outstanding Student in Psychology; Marshall L. Jones of Hagerstown for the Outstanding Tutor Award; Heidi A. Boyd of Boonsboro for the Paramedic Emergency Services Outstanding Graduate Award; Brett Smith of Williamsport for the Robinwood Players Drama Award; Noah D. Holweck of Hagerstown for the TCS Leadership and Service Award in Computer-Aided Design; Benjamin W. Calimer of Waynesboro, PA, for the TCS Leadership and Service Award in Graphic Design Technology; Matthew L. Andrews of Hagerstown for the TCS Leadership and Service Award in Information Systems Technology; Heather Kershner of Greencastle, PA, for the TCS
     Professionalism Award in Graphic Design Technology; Jane E. Logsdon of Boonsboro for the TCS Professionalism Award in Information Systems Technology; Lisa Y. Faulkner of Boonsboro and Elizabeth S. Shank of Fayetteville, PA, for the Washington County Medical Society Award; Anthony M. Clement of Hagerstown for the William Dale Clopper Human Kindness Award.
Recipients of the Career Programs Awards of Excellence are Kandyce K. Kirk of Greencastle, PA, for Administration of Justice; Samantha J. McCarty of Hancock for Early Childhood Education; Dani L. Ward of Hagerstown for Graphic Design Technology; Amanda M. Ankeney of Big Pool for Human Services; Marshall L. Jones of Hagerstown for IST: Computer Support Specialist; Daniel C. Brown of Greencastle, PA, for IST: Networking; Cathy M. Bard of McConnellsburg, PA, for IST: Programming; Derick E. Flohr of Hagerstown for Management; Amanda L. Weyant of Hagerstown for Medical Assistant; Kristen M. Castle of Hagerstown for MET: Computer-Aided Design; Michael D. Hoosier of Clear Spring for Nursing; Hollie A. Austin of Hagerstown for Paralegal Studies; Tanya N. Clark of Martinsburg, WV, for Practical Nursing; and Emily A. Mace of Waynesboro, PA, for Radiography.
The Class of 2007 recipients of awards for the highest academic average (4.0) were Jeremy K. Bonebrake, Christine E. Day, and Diana R. Keely, all of Hagerstown; Katie D. Dingee and Susan E. Miles, both of Williamsport; Tina N. Exline of Greencastle, PA; Bruce L. Persons of Smithsburg; David T. Porter of Clear Spring; Danielle K. Shives of Big Pool; and David A. Whisner of Hancock.