Commission Helps HCC Build Strategic Plan


(September 27, 2010) - Hagerstown Community College announced today the formation of a 30-member Commission on the Future of HCC. The group, comprised of community members, alumni, students, faculty members, and HCC administrators, will work through the end of this school year to identify local higher education needs and share recommendations to help HCC shape its long-range strategic plan.
“As the community’s college, it’s imperative that we work with local organizations and citizens to identify the most significant needs of the community,” said HCC President Guy Altieri. “The work of this commission will serve as a valuable tool in helping us plan for continued success in addressing HCC’s educational mission, vision, and values in serving the local community.”
The commission will help identify community educational needs, assess HCC’s responsiveness, and suggest improvements for the mission and service of the college. Commission members will be asked to examine the challenges and opportunities that HCC is expected to face in the next five years. The end goal is to have the commission set forth recommendations to guide HCC in planning for and using its resources to best serve the community. 
Carolyn Brooks, immediate past chair of the HCC Board of Trustees and current board member, and John League, editor and publisher of The Herald-Mail are serving as the co-chairs of the commission. Four study groups within the commission will allow the group to examine the college by specific areas.
The Student and Student Affairs Study Group is co-chaired by Donna Rudy, HCC dean of student affairs, and David Engle, director of the Washington County Department of Social Services. Group members include Sila Bartel, representing the Hispanic community; Leon Brumback, HCC Foundation; Maureen Grove, Girls Inc.; Joan Johnson, HCC faculty; Carol Kreykenbohm-Barnhart, Washington County Public Schools; and John Little, HCC’s Student Government Association.
The Programs and Educational Support Study Group is co-chaired by Judith Oleks, HCC vice president of academic affairs, and Cassandra Latimer, director of public affairs and communications at Citicorp. Group members include Donna Hanlin, WCPS; Joe Kroboth, Washington County government; Rebecca Massie Lane, Washington County Museum of Fine Arts; Sean Maher, HCC faculty; Dori Nipps, Pen-Mar Development Corporation; Theresa Shank, dean of HCC’s Continuing Education and Community Services Division; and Maggie Stone, HCC SGA.
The Finances, Facilities, Human Resources, and Technology Support Study Group is co-chaired by Anna Barker, HCC vice president of administration and finance, and Tom Newcomer, president of R. Bruce Carson. Group members include Sam Cool, Planet Technologies; John Itell, Albright, Crumbacker, Moul & Itell; Phil Kelly, Millennium 3 Energy; Joe Marschner, HCC faculty; Matthew Vich, HCC SGA; and Jim Ward, D.M. Bowman.

The Effectiveness and Quality Assurance Study Group is co-chaired by Barbara Macht, HCC dean of planning and institutional effectiveness, and Earl Stoner, Washington County health officer. Group members include Dale Bannon, WCPS; Tracy Barlup, Longmeadow Animal Hospital; Mary Anne Burke, Washington County Arts Council; Rebecca Lake, HCC SGA; Kathy Maher, Hagerstown government; and Tony Valente, HCC faculty.
The commission is expected to complete its work by April 2011. Following review by the HCC board of trustees and input from HCC faculty and staff, the final recommendations will be incorporated into HCC’s Strategic Plan 2016, which will be implemented beginning in September of 2012.