Six students in HCC’s radiography program win awards


(October 26, 2010) - Six Hagerstown Community College students recently won awards during the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists Student Essay Competition.

In this year’s essay competition, three HCC students won the top three awards, two HCC students received honorable mentions, and one HCC student was awarded the Ted Lynch Award. Awards were presented by Vickie Brunner, Treasurer of the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists, and a 2007 graduate of HCC’s radiography program. Essay winners included Erica Miller, 22, of Hagerstown, who received first place; Jessica Mathis, 21, of Mt. Airy, Md., who received second place; and Stephanie Crilley, 24, of Waynesboro, Pa., who received third place. Katrina Drgos, 25, of Baltimore, and Kimberly Mueller, 27, of Hancock, each received Honorable Mention.

HCC sophomore Danielle Coyle, 22, of Cascade, received the Ted Lynch Award for Outstanding HCC Radiography Program Student. Each year, the Ted Lynch Award is given to sophomore-level students throughout the state who are chosen by their individual college radiography programs as the most outstanding student within the program.

According to HCC Radiography Instructor Dawn Dingle, students work on their papers for two semesters before submitting them to the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists for the annual competition, which is open to all radiography programs in the state of Maryland. Students are allowed to choose their own essay topics as long as they are related to the health field and this year’s winners chose a variety of topics, including reconstructive surgery of the face, sleep, skin cancer, organ donation, and memory.

All six radiography students will graduate from HCC in May 2011.

Photo Caption
Front row, from left: HCC students Erica Miller, Stephanie Crilley, and Jessica Mathis; with Vickie Brunner, Treasurer of the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists.

Back row, from left: HCC students Katrina Drgos, Kimberly Mueller, and Danielle Coyle.