HCC announces outstanding adjunct faculty recipients


(Release: March 29, 2011) - Hagerstown Community College recently recognized seven of its outstanding adjunct faculty members for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Each academic division nominated one adjunct faculty member to receive an award. Recipients included Sarah Brown, a biology instructor who has taught in the Mathematics and Science Division for six years; Carl Creedon, a paralegal studies, administration of justice, and sociology instructor who has taught in the Behavioral and Social Sciences/Business Division for 14 years; Robert Koziel, an information systems technology instructor who has taught in the Technology and Computer Studies Division for 12 years; Kelly Lesher, a critical care nurse who has taught in the Nursing Division for two and a half years; Robin Shaner, a costume design instructor and costume construction assistant who has taught in the English and Humanities Division for 18 years; Krista Smith, a developmental education instructor who has taught in the Developmental Education and Adult Literacy Services Division for eight years; and Robert Steiner, a dental instructor who has taught courses in the Health Sciences Division and the Continuing Education and Community Services Division for five years.

In addition, Shaner was also recognized as Outstanding Adjunct Faculty of the Year in 2010.

Photo Caption
Front row, from left: Margaret Spivey, director, Technology and Computer Studies Division; Kelly Lesher, adjunct honoree; and Frances Cade, chair, Behavioral and Social Sciences/Business Division.

Second row, from left: Guy Altieri, HCC president; Karen Hammond, director, Nursing Division; Joan Johnson, chair, English and Humanities Division; Robin Shaner, adjunct honoree; and Sarah Brown, adjunct honoree.

Third row, from left: Angela Stoops, director, Health Sciences division; Krista Smith, adjunct honoree; and Dawn Schoenenberger, director, Developmental Education and Adult Literacy Services Division.

Back row, from left: Robert Koziel, adjunct honoree; Robert Steiner, adjunct honoree; Gerald Haines, director, instruction; Carl Creedon, adjunct honoree; and Judith Peisen, chair, Mathematics and Science Division.