Governor appoints two new members to HCC board of trustees


(Release: March 28, 2012) - Maryland Governor O’Malley has appointed two new members to the Hagerstown Community College board of trustees. The appointments of L. William Proctor, Jr. and John D. Williamson were confirmed in the Maryland State Senate on March 23.

Proctor has been appointed to serve the remaining term of Margaret Hetzer, who recently resigned from the board. His service will begin at the April board meeting and continue through June of 2013. Proctor, a Hagerstown resident, is an attorney and partner with Myers and Proctor, P.A.
Williamson has been appointed to serve the remaining term of Richard Phoebus, who recently relocated out of the state, making him ineligible to finish his term. Williamson’s service will begin at the April board meeting. He was appointed to fulfill Phoebus’ term through June of 2012, and then a full six-year term through June of 2018. Williamson, a Hagerstown resident, is the principal of Williamson and Associates, an independent financial advisory practice affiliated with Ameriprise Financial.
Serving on the HCC board of trustees, Proctor and Williamson will act as voting members of the board in the development and evaluation of college policies. The board functions as the governing body of the college in accordance with Code of Maryland Regulations and oversees the work of the president of the college. The board consists of a chair, vice chair, and five members. The college president serves as the secretary/treasurer.

In addition to Proctor and Williamson, the following individuals are on the board of trustees:

  • Carolyn W. Brooks, Chair
    1993 - Present
  • Gregory I. Snook, Vice-Chair
    2007 - Present
  • Austin S. Abraham
    2008 - Present
  • Patricia K. Cushwa
    2003 - 2005; 2008 - Present
  • Merle S. Elliott
    1986 - Present