HCC holds first induction ceremony for TRiO Program


(Release: November 22, 2011) - Hagerstown Community College held its first induction ceremony for students enrolled in the TRiO Project Success/Student Support Services Program on Nov. 18, in The Merle S. Elliott Continuing Education and Conference Center on HCC’s main campus.

Project Success is a new program at HCC designed to help students who are low-income, are first generation college students, or have a disability. Once accepted into the program, students have access to academic advising, tutoring, specialized workshops, and career and financial planning. In addition, students can borrow textbooks from an in-house loaner library and attend various cultural field trips. To take part in Project Success, students must be currently enrolled at HCC and pursuing a certificate or associate’s degree.

Each student was presented with a certificate recognizing their acceptance in the program, as well as their commitment to being a scholastic achiever. The ceremony recognized all students who participated in the program for the spring 2011 and fall 2011 academic semesters.

Inductees included:

From Berkeley Springs, W.Va.:
Angie Pearrell

From Big Pool:
Richard Spong

From Boonsboro:
Abby Barbeito
Star Dodson-Moreland
Richard Hixon
Jean Meyers
Jarrett Myers
Jennifer Wayne

From Cavetown:
Marco Olivera

From Chambersburg, Pa.:
Jaquesha Blanding
Jeffrey Creamer
Ryan Jones

From Charles Town, W.Va.:
Regina Foster

From Clear Spring:
Valerie Carbaugh
Dale Findley
David Mills
Brad Nehls

From Dallastown, Pa.:
Sean Floyd

From Fairplay:
Roxanne Amad

From Falling Waters, W.Va.:
Joscelyn Horton
Cynthia Morris
Jordan Talbert
Darrell Talbert

From Funkstown:
Katie Lushbaugh
Stephanie Rossiter

From Germantown, Md:
Turquoia Johnson

From Greencastle, Pa.:
Mary Forsyth
Antoine Hall
Misty Rhone
Ann Weaver

From Hagerstown:
Jaylen Akhmedova
Rodger An
Corinne Bagley
Lashonta Baldwin
Carla Barney
April Barnett
James Barthley
Jacqueline Bennett
Rachel Benton
Mariah Birdine
Stephanie Bognar
Kyle Burkett
Timothy Carpenter
Michael Charrette
Preston Christian
Daniele Curry
Anuoluwapo Dare
Ebony Davis
Harshal Desai
Siriki Diabate
Maria Edmonds
April Ellerbusch
Ionela Enciu
Sarah England
Krista Evans
Kayla Exline
Misty Farmer
Olayemi Fatungase
Joseph Fehlman
Kira Feigley
Richard Foltz
Jonathan Fowler
Maria Fratus
McKenna Galvin
Mark Goonight
Rachel Hagemann
Richard Harris
Angelo Harrison
Regina Hawkins
Samantha Haynes
Lynsay Hays
Cherie Henry
Kelly Herrick
Sherrie-Lynn Hollomon
Brandon Horning
Xiaochu Hu
Nahdia Jack
Francis Jackson
Amanda Jenkins
Charlene Johnson
Christina Johnson
Kristin Johnson
Michael Johnson
Carmen Jones
Theodore Kaiser
Mylika Keyes
Joseph Knight
Brandi Koontz
Laken Le Vardi
Kendra Lehman
April Margetson
William Miller
Christina Moats
Jeremy Mose
Sterlyn Nazreth
Chevvelle Nelson   
Joyce Noland
Sussan Owusu-Ayim
Amanda Peterson
Merna Pettit
Jeffrey Pheil
Yolonda Pinkcett
Zina Pugh
Debra Reed
Cher Rivers
Ayana Robinson
Mark Russ
Chad Russell
Eva Saunders
Kevin Saunders
Nicole Schmidt
Michael Shanahan
Elisabeth Sharpe
Courtney Shilling
Grady Shingler
Mandi Shoemaker
Dustin Simmons
Caesar Smith
Beverly Stitely
Dawn Summers
Michael Swope
Heather Tapley
Richard Terry
Deedra Thomas
Ashley Tracey
Jean Tucker
Tierrah Tucker
Nichole Vandyke
Tasha Walls
Verneice Washington
Rachel Way
Melvin Wiggins
Satia Williamson
Scott Wise
Laura Wishard
Crystal Wolford
Tione Womack

From Hancock:
Brittany Sutphin
From Kearneysville, W.Va.:
Jacob Reid

From Keedysville:
Joseph Woodburn

From Martinsburg, W.Va.:
Bernard Jennings
Chaz Nedd

From Maugansville:
Chris Garner
Kayla Grout
Anthony Hanners

From Myersville, Md.:
Jenny Nichols

From Rohrersville:
Benjamin Stewart

From Rouzerville, Pa.:
Brandon Gates

From Sharpsburg:
Jacqueline Campbell
Joshua Strong

From Smithsburg:
Kristen Harbaugh
Cynthia Hilton
Dylan Ianaro
Barbara Kulusic
Joshua Lesher
Terri Mann
Micah Metcalf
Nathan Pryor
Anthony Schiano Moriello
Clyde Servis
Holly Snow
Lauren Williams

From Waynesboro, Pa:
Ashley Daley
Joshua Deardorff
Paige Goebelbecker
Chasity Johnson
John Powell
David Sanders
Danielle Shockey

From Westminster, Md.:
Dana O’Leary

From Williamsport:
Shirley Haymes
Rebecca Hose
Michael Reyes

From Winchester, Va.:
Nathan Deavers
Project Success is funded through the TRiO Student Support Services Program grant, which is intended to aid students in achieving their personal, educational, and financial goals. HCC received the $1.1 million dollar TRiO grant in fall 2010. Funds are distributed over a five-year period with 68 percent financed through federal sources, which amounts to $219,988 per year, and 32 percent financed through non-government sources, which amounts to $69,863 per year. 

To learn more about the TRiO Project Success/Student Support Services Program, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/trio.