HCC honors students’ academic achievements at 15th annual Honors Convocation

(May 16, 2017) – Hagerstown Community College recently held its 15th annual Honors Convocation. The event recognized special awards, graduation honors, dean’s list honors, Phi Theta Kappa membership, Educators Rising Honor Society, and TRiO Support Services awards.

Following remarks from HCC President Guy Altieri, attendees heard from David Warner, vice president of academic affairs; Paula Kessler, assistant professor, mathematics; and student speakers Madiha Humayun and Tyler Lowe.

The awards were presented by Carol Rothstein, director of instructional support services, and Julian Horton, dean of academic services and online education. Winners of the competitive awards included Khanh The Huynh and Kristin N. Pryor-Mauck, both of Hagerstown, for the All-Maryland Academic Team for Community Colleges – 2017 award; Robert Wayne Monahan, of Hedgesville, W. Va., Sydney D. Reaver, of Emmitsburg, and Amanda C. Rice, of Greencastle, Pa., for the Award for Personal and Professional Growth in Nursing; Brenda Rentas, of Hagerstown, for the Campus Leadership Award; Victor Manuel Valencia, of Hagerstown, for the HCC Alumni Association Life Membership Award, and the Student Government Association Award; Paola C. Torres, of Smithsburg, for the College Community Service Award; Heather S. Stevenson, of St. Thomas, Pa., for Phi Theta Kappa Award; Edison Khang Ly, of Williamsport, for Outstanding STEMM Technical Middle College Graduate; Jessica L. Boswell, of Hagerstown, for the David Wayne Moser Memorial Award; Paul W. Leatherman, of Hagerstown, for the HCC Alumni Association Outstanding Alumnus Awards; Carolyn Royster, of Hagerstown, for the Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler Award; Miranda N. Speak, of Clear Spring, for the Maryland Society of Radiologic Technologists Ted Lynch Award; Erica D. Hamel, of Hagerstown, for the Judith Kofoet Professionalism Award for Radiography; Zhanna Krivetskaya, of Hagerstown, for the Lowry Johnson Award for Excellence in Radiography; Bethany J. Hanes, of Hagerstown, for the Nurses Alumni Association of Washington County Hospital School of Nursing; EmmaLeigh K. Nally, of Williamsport, for the Outstanding Scholar Athlete Award; Laura N. McKenrick, of Williamsport, and Nancy C. Robinette, of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Students in Business; Mikaela E. Smith, of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Dental Hygiene; Brooke Leanna Gaylor, of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Education; Katherine E. Dunn, of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Human Services; Kristin N. Pryor-Mauck, of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Paralegal Studies; Clayton P. Haworth, of Martinsburg, W.Va., for the Outstanding Student in Psychology; Jessica Lea Rodriguez, of Hagerstown, for the Outstanding Student in Sociology; Daniel Alem Teklemariam, of Sharpsburg, for the Outstanding Tutor Award and Outstanding Mathematics Graduate; Joseph E. Muller, of Fairfield, Pa., for the Paramedic Emergency Services Outstanding Graduate Award; Taylor L. Hassler, of Williamsport, for the Richard A. Reynolds Memorial Award; Charlemagne Morgan McNeil, of Boonsboro, for the Robinwood Players Drama Award; Roberto R. Volquez, Krista Wiles, and Jaimie Lee Wiles, of Hagerstown; and Samuel Eli Furr, of Keedysville; all for the TCS Leadership and Service Award; Jared M. Weaver, and Erik M. Winger, of Hagerstown; Joshua R. Strock, of Mercersburg, Pa.; Samuel Eli Furr, of Keedysville; and Shelley A. Schoppert, of Frederick, all for the TCS Professionalism Award; Corey L. Domer, of Funkstown, and Ashley L. French, of Waynesboro, Pa., both for the Washington County Medical Society Awards.

Winners of the Career Programs Awards of Excellence were Christopher M. Harrell, of Hagerstown, for administration of justice; Elsie E. Martinez, of Hagerstown for biotechnology; Lisa M. Wynkoop, of Boonsboro, for Computer Support Specialist; James A. Jackson, of Hagerstown, for cybersecurity; Brittany L. Wilston, of Hagerstown, for dental hygiene; Madison Noel Bachtell, of Smithsburg, for early childhood and primary grades education; Kayla Noel Yeager, of Saint Thomas, Pa., for graphic design -MORE- technology; Timothy S. Armstrong, of Greencastle, Pa., for human services technician; Lisa M. Henderson, of Boonsboro, for management; Julie A. Csordas, of Hagerstown, for medical assistant; Bethany J. Hanes, of Hagerstown, for nursing; Robert K. May, of Lavale, for paramedic emergency services; Elijah Gordon Geise, of Westminister, for radiography; Alexander P. Hyre, of Martinsburg, Pa., for simulation and digital entertainment; and Menay D. Wilde, of Greencastle, Pa., for web and multimedia technology.

Winners of the Commendation for Academic Excellence in Mathematics and Science were Hallie N. Pennington, of Hagerstown, for biology; Maysa M. Suleiman, of Hagerstown, for biotechnology; Naomi Pettway, of Hagerstown, for chemistry; Claire M. Galvin, of Charles Town, W.Va., for engineering; Scott D. Hammond, of Chambersburg, Pa., for mathematics; and Laura E. Palmer, of Sharpsburg, for physics. The winner of the Commendation for Outstanding Computer Science Graduate was Jorelle Manula Kebeto Yonta, of Hagerstown. The winner of the Commendation for Outstanding Science Graduate was Kirah Rhiannon Shaw, of Hagerstown.

Winners of the TRiO: Student Support Services Awards of Excellence were Scott D. Hammon, of Chambersburg, Pa.; and Judith M. Nji, of Hagerstown, for academic achievement; Colton C. Shingler, of Hagerstown; and Daniel Alem Teklemariam, of Sharpsburg, for aspiring scholar; and Brittany E. D’India, and Judie Virginia Needy, of Hagerstown; and Thomas Pitts, of Shippensburg, Pa., for perseverance.

Members inducted into the Educators Rising Honor Society included Morgan Elise Drenner and Giovanna M. Papa, of Hagerstown; Carrie J. Barr and Jenna L. Simane, of Smithsburg; Crystal Jade Armstrong, of Greencastle, Pa.; Colleen R. Hixon, of Clear Spring; and Megan B. Lewis, of Cavetown. Members of this society must attend at least 75 percent of chapter meetings, activities, and events, maintain a 3.0 GPA, and complete six service hours per year.