The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC releases Presidential Profile

    Following the presidential search open forums that were held on December 5, with approximately 100 people in attendance, HCC’s Presidential Search Screening Committee met to develop the Presidential Profile.

  • HCC to hold fall student art exhibit in December

    Hagerstown Community College will hold its fall student art exhibit from Monday, Dec. 11, through Saturday, Dec. 16, in the Kepler Center on HCC’s main campus. The opening reception will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 12, from 5 to 7 p.m. This event is free and the public is invited to attend. 

  • HCC to hold open forums to start presidential search process

    As officials at Hagerstown Community College begin the search process for the next college president, three one-hour open forums will be held on Tuesday, December 5, at 10 a.m., 1 p.m, and 5 p.m., in room 213 in the Career Programs Building. 

  • Scholarships available for HCC’s STEM students

    HCC's Student Financial Aid Office is currently accepting applications for the S-STEM scholarships, available for qualifying full-time students majoring in STEM programs at HCC during the 2017-18 academic year. The spring semester deadline is Friday, December 8. Spring classes begin on January 8. 

  • HCC names Warner as interim president

    The HCC Board of Trustees today approved the appointment of David Warner, HCC vice president of academic affairs and student services, to serve as the interim president when current President Guy Altieri retires on December 31. Warner will serve in that role until a replacement is named, later in 2018.

  • HCC inducts 65 students into TRiO Program

    The TRiO Student Support Services (SSS) program at Hagerstown Community College recently recognized 65 students who were accepted into the program within the past year. TRiO SSS is a unique program designed to assist first-generation and income-eligible students, and students with documented disabilities.

  • HCC releases 2017 edition of the Hedge Apple

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a reception for the most recent publication of its literary arts magazine, the Hedge Apple, on Tuesday, Nov. 14, at 5 p.m., in the Antietam Room in the Student Center. All contributors to the 2017 Hedge Apple are encouraged to come celebrate and read their original work. 

  • HCC to host annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series

    HCC will host the annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series on Thursday, Nov. 16, at 7 p.m., in the Kepler Center’s Black Box Theater. A celebrated performer of Japanese shakuhachi and Western flute, Nora Nohraku Suggs will present a lecture/demonstration of the shakuhachi (Japanese bamboo flute). 

Events

  • Winter Break Begins - HCC Closes at Noon

    Winter Break begins on Friday, Dec. 22, at 12 p.m. HCC closes at noon and will remain closed through Monday, Jan. 1. No classes will be held and administrative offices will be closed during this time. The college will reopen on Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018.

    Date:
    Friday, December 22, 2017 - 12:00pm
  • Winter Break - HCC Closed

    Winter Break begins on Friday, Dec. 22, at 12 p.m. HCC closes at noon and will remain closed through Monday, Jan. 1. No classes will be held and administrative offices will be closed during this time. The college will reopen on Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018.

    Date:
    Saturday, December 23, 2017 (All day)
  • 2017 HCC Futsal Tournament

    HCC will host a girls' and boys' Futsal Tournament benefiting the HCC Women’s Soccer Scholarship fund on Saturday, December 30 (boys) and Sunday, December 31 (girls). Players are guaranteed four games of at least 25 minutes of 5v5 play (four field players and one goal keeper). Divisions include: U-12,U-14,U-16,U-18 Girls & Boys.

    Date:
    Saturday, December 30, 2017 - 8:00am
    Sunday, December 31, 2017 - 8:00am
  • 2017 HCC Futsal Tournament

    HCC will host a girls' and boys' Futsal Tournament benefiting the HCC Women’s Soccer Scholarship fund on Saturday, December 30 (boys) and Sunday, December 31 (girls). Players are guaranteed four games of at least 25 minutes of 5v5 play (four field players and one goal keeper). Divisions include: U-12,U-14,U-16,U-18 Girls & Boys.

    Date:
    Saturday, December 30, 2017 - 8:00am
    Sunday, December 31, 2017 - 8:00am
  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Learning Resource Center (LRC), Room 254 (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot K. For directions and campus map, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/about-hcc.

    Date:
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 4:00pm
  • BINGO

    Located in the Student Center Dining Hall. Free to play. Candy prizes.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 4:30pm