The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC to host STEM Festival on November 4

    Hagerstown Community College will host a STEM Festival on Saturday, November 4, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., on the campus of HCC. The 2017 STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) Festival will feature science exhibits and demonstrations, hands-on activities and competitions for K-12 students, live animals from Critters and Conservation, and more. 

  • HCC to host third annual Cornhole Tournament Oct. 28

    Hagerstown Community College’s Hawk Athletic Booster Club will hold its third annual Cornhole Tournament on Saturday, October 28, at 11 a.m., in the Athletic, Recreation, and Community Center (ARCC) on HCC’s campus. 

  • HCC Police Academy now accepting applications

    Applications are now being accepted for the next class of the Hagerstown Community College Police Academy. This class starts January 8, 2018, and runs through June 22, 2018. The application deadline is October 31, 2017. The HCC Police Academy provides entry-level police training to both agency-sponsored recruits and self-sponsored students.

  • Forensic Science course available this spring

    Forensic Science is offered as a late-start, 12-week hybrid course beginning on January 22, 2018 and running through April 22, 2018. Lectures are online and students will need to attend laboratory sessions on campus at the scheduled times. 

  • HCC biotech students receive awards

    Students from Hagerstown Community College’s Biotechnology program recently presented at the Mid-Atlantic Plant Molecular Biology Society Meeting at the Patuxent National Wildlife Refuge in Laurel, Md. 

  • Brooks reappointed to HCC board of trustees

    Carolyn W. Brooks was recently reappointed by the Governor’s Office to serve another six-year term on the Hagerstown Community College board of trustees. She has been a member of the board since 1993. During that time, she served as vice-chair for nine years and chair for three years. 

  • HCC to hold fall open house on October 14

    Hagerstown Community College will hold an open house for prospective students on Saturday, October 14, from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m., in HCC’s Student Center. The event is free and open to the public.

  • Students needed for fall marketing photoshoot

    The Public Information and Government Relations Office (PIGR) at Hagerstown Community College is looking for students to participate in a professional photoshoot on Thursday, October 5, from 2 to 5 p.m., on HCC’s main campus.

  • HCC to hold “An Evening of Guitar” on Oct. 5

    Hagerstown Community College will hold “An Evening of Guitar,” on Thursday, Oct. 5, at 7 p.m., in the Student Center. The concert will feature local musicians Danny Webber and Candice Mowbray with special guests Arnie Helmick on bass and Edgar Myers on drums. 

Events

  • Shepherd University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Shepherd University will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Academic Advising area of the Student Center. An appointment is required. To make an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Beach Volleyball Pickup Game

    Join HCC students and employees for beach volleyball pickup games outside the Student Center every Wednesday, from 6 - 8 p.m., through the month of October. Drinks and music will be provided.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 20, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 6:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Lip Sync Battle

    Located in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm
  • FAFSA Lab

    Need help completing your FAFSA? Members of the HCC Student Financial Aid Office will be available to help students complete their FAFSA during the above days and times in the Learning Resource Center, Room 335.

    Date:
    Friday, October 6, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, October 20, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 3, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, November 17, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 17, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, December 1, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Spring Registration Starts

    Registration for Spring 2018 classes starts October 23, 2017. Register online via WebAdvisor beginning at 6 a.m. Spring classes start January 8, 2018. For more information, contact the Academic Advising and Registration Office of at advise@hagerstowncc.edu.

    Date:
    Monday, October 23, 2017 (All day)