The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC holds fall fest at Children’s Learning Center

    The Children’s Learning Center at Hagerstown Community College held its annual Fall Fest on October 13. Teachers planned a variety of outdoor activities that included an obstacle course, crafts, bean bag toss, a campus “pumpkin patch,” and other games. 

  • HCC President Altieri announces retirement

    Dr. Guy Altieri, president of Hagerstown Community College, has announced his retirement after a more than 45-year career in higher education, effective December 31, 2017. He has been president of HCC for 16 years. 

  • HCC students to perform two one-act plays

    Students in Hagerstown Community College’s introduction to theater class will perform two one-act plays in the Kepler Black Box Theater at HCC on Nov. 3 and 4 at 8 p.m., and Nov. 5 at 2:30 p.m. These plays explore the power and emotion of poetry. 

  • HCC to host NASA event on Nov. 8

    Hagerstown Community College will host a NASA Tech Day on Wednesday, November 8, from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the Career Programs Building at HCC. At the event, the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center’s Strategic Partnership Office will share information.

  • HCC to host STEM Festival on November 4

    Hagerstown Community College will host a STEM Festival on Saturday, November 4, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., on the campus of HCC. The 2017 STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) Festival will feature science exhibits and demonstrations, hands-on activities and competitions for K-12 students, live animals from Critters and Conservation, and more. 

  • HCC to host third annual Cornhole Tournament Oct. 28

    Hagerstown Community College’s Hawk Athletic Booster Club will hold its third annual Cornhole Tournament on Saturday, October 28, at 11 a.m., in the Athletic, Recreation, and Community Center (ARCC) on HCC’s campus. 

  • Forensic Science course available this spring

    Forensic Science is offered as a late-start, 12-week hybrid course beginning on January 22, 2018 and running through April 22, 2018. Lectures are online and students will need to attend laboratory sessions on campus at the scheduled times. 

  • HCC biotech students receive awards

    Students from Hagerstown Community College’s Biotechnology program recently presented at the Mid-Atlantic Plant Molecular Biology Society Meeting at the Patuxent National Wildlife Refuge in Laurel, Md. 

Events

  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 25, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 22, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 23, 2018 - 5:00pm
  • BINGO

    Located in the Student Center Dining Hall. Free to play. Candy prizes.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 4:30pm
  • Lip Sync Battle

    Located in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Business Club Meeting

    HCC's Business Club will meet in the Student Center, room 141. The topic will be "What it takes to Acquire a Patent, Trademark, or Copyright." The presenter will be Jeanne Singer, Singer Law, located in Hagerstown.

    Date:
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 2:30pm