The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC accepts 59 new members into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the national honor society at Hagerstown Community College, recently accepted 59 new members. To be eligible for PTK, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and must have completed 12 credit hours of college-level work at HCC. 

  • HCC announces start of Promise Pathway Program

    Hagerstown Community College announced on January 13 the start of a Promise Pathway Program. Similar to other promise programs across the country, this initiative is designed to address the financial barriers for high school students who have the academic readiness and commitment to succeed in college, but lack all the necessary financial resources to do so, even if they qualify for federal financial aid. 

  • HCC offers spring late-start classes

    The spring semester is underway at Hagerstown Community College, but there is still time to register for late-start spring classes. Shorter sessions begin February 14, March 13, and March 28. 

  • HCC announces fall 2016 dean’s list

    Hagerstown Community College recently announced its dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must be attending school full-time (12 credits or more) and must maintain a GPA of 3.5 and above.

  • Extended hours this week

    To better serve future and current students, Hagerstown Community College will offer extended hours during the first week of January. From Tuesday, Jan. 3, to Thursday, Jan. 5, student affairs will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. These departments will be open on Saturday, Jan. 7, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

  • HCC Middle College to hold info sessions

    Program information sessions for the STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, medical) Technical Middle College at Hagerstown Community College will be held on Wednesdays, Jan. 4, Jan. 18, Feb. 1, and Feb. 15, at 4 p.m., in the STEM Building, room 409. 

  • HCC graduates seventh class of Police Academy recruits

    Hagerstown Community College recently graduated its seventh class of Police Academy recruits. Following remarks from HCC Police Academy Director David Simonetti, HCC President Guy Altieri, Hagerstown Police Department Chief Victor V. Brito, and student speaker Officer Coty Campbell, students were awarded certificates to commend their achievement. 

Events

  • Annual Foundation Tribute

    A tribute to arts and education hosted by Tom Newcomer. Proceeds benefit HCC student scholarships.

    Date:
    Friday, April 7, 2017 - 6:00pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Frostburg State University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University, Main Campus or Hagerstown Center will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Academic Advising area of the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Friday, March 3, 2017 - 10:00am
    Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Career Workshop Series

    HCC's Internship and Job Services department will offer a Career Workshop Series during the spring 2017 semester on selected Tuesdays at 2:30 p.m. All workshops will be held in the Student Center Life Skills Lab, room 170. To pre-register for a workshop, contact Hillary Ware at hnware@hagerstowncc.edu

    Date:
    Tuesday, February 7, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, February 28, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 2:30pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 2, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 23, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, April 13, 2017 - 10:00am
  • FAFSA Lab

    Complete the 2017-2018 FAFSA by March 1, 2017 to maximize eligibility for Maryland grants and scholarships.

    Date:
    Friday, April 14, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, April 28, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, May 12, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, May 26, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, May 26, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, June 2, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Shenandoah University One-on-One Transfer Visit

    A transfer advisor from Shenandoah University will be on campus to meet one-on-one with interested students in the Advising and Registration are of the Student Center. An appointment is required. To make an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Wednesday, February 22, 2017 - 11:00am
    Monday, April 17, 2017 - 11:00am