The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC graduates eighth class of Police Academy recruits

    Hagerstown Community College recently graduated its eighth class of Police Academy recruits. The HCC Police Academy provides entry-level police training to both agency-sponsored recruits and self-sponsored students. 

  • HCC awards management certificates

    The Continuing Education and Workforce Development Division at Hagerstown Community College recently awarded the American Management Association Certificate of General and Human Resource Management to six students. They each completed the seven-course, 49-hour program at HCC’s Valley Mall Business Training Center. 

  • HCC awards TAM certificates

    Four students recently completed the six-week mixology course at Hagerstown Community College, enrolled in the Techniques of Alcohol Management class, and received their industry certifications. 

  • Giuseppe joins HCC dance department

    The English and Humanities Division at Hagerstown Community College recently announced that dancer Gabriella Di Giuseppe has joined HCC’s dance department as an adjunct faculty member. At HCC, Giuseppe will be teaching hip-hop dance courses in which students will further develop their own hip-hop style and voice in choreography, strengthen their hip-hop dance technique, and further their knowledge of hip-hop dance history. 

  • 229th Army Band to perform June 25 at HCC

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association will host the 229th Army Band as part of its annual Red, White and Blue Summer Concert Series, on Sunday, June 25, at 6:15 p.m., in HCC’s Alumni Amphitheater. 

  • HCC receives second Upward Bound grant

    Hagerstown Community College recently received its second five-year Upward Bound grant, totaling $1.28 million, from the U.S. Department of Education. This grant is designed to increase the high school graduation and college completion rates of low-income, first-generation students. 

Events

  • FAFSA Lab

    Need help completing your FAFSA? Members of the HCC Student Financial Aid Office will be available to help students complete their FAFSA during the above days and times in the Learning Resource Center, Room 335.

    Date:
    Friday, October 6, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, October 6, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, October 20, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 3, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, November 17, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 17, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, December 1, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 25, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 22, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 23, 2018 - 5:00pm
  • Shippensburg University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Shippensburg University will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Academic Advising area in the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 9:00am
    Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 9:00am
    Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Beach Volleyball Pickup Game

    Join HCC students and employees for beach volleyball pickup games outside the Student Center every Wednesday, from 6 - 8 p.m., through the month of October. Drinks and music will be provided.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 20, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 6:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 9:00am