The Latest from HCC

News

  • Pinning ceremony honors HCC health sciences graduates

    The 2017 graduates of the health sciences division at Hagerstown Community College were honored at a pinning ceremony on May 13. Dental assisting, dental hygiene, medical assisting, paramedic, pharmacy technician, and radiography were among the program areas included in this year’s ceremony. 

  • HCC honors GED and EDP graduates

    Hagerstown Community College recently held its annual adult education commencement ceremony. Student speakers at the event included Amanda Hewitt, of Smithsburg, to represent the National External Diploma Program (NEDP), and Adam Jones, of Hagerstown, who represented the General Equivalency Development (GED) program. 

  • HCC holds its 70th spring commencement

    Hagerstown Community College held its 70th annual spring commencement on Saturday, May 13, in the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center at HCC. HCC President Guy Altieri and members of the board of trustees awarded 376 degrees and certificates to the spring 2017 graduating class. During the first fall commencement held in December of 2016, 293 degrees and certificates were awarded. 

  • HCC middle college students graduate

    The third class of students in the STEMM Technical Middle College (STMC) at Hagerstown Community College graduated from HCC on May 13, 2017. Ten students were recognized at a special ceremony on May 9, 2017 for their significant accomplishments in earning associate degrees from HCC at the same time they are each completing high school. The program includes educational pathways in STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, and medical) fields.

  • HCC accepts 93 new members into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the national honor society at Hagerstown Community College, recently accepted 93 new members. To be eligible for PTK, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and must have completed 12 credit hours of college-level work at HCC.

Events

  • Beach Volleyball Pickup Game

    Join HCC students and employees for beach volleyball pickup games outside the Student Center every Wednesday, from 6 - 8 p.m., through the month of October. Drinks and music will be provided.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 20, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 6:00pm
    Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 6:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 9:00am
  • Frostburg @ Hagerstown Transfer Advisor Visit for Psychology Majors

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University at Hagerstown will be on campus to meet with psychology majors in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 10:00am
    Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 10:00am
    Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Athletic Boosters Corn Hole Tournament

    The HCC Athletic Boosters will hold its third annual Corn Hole Tournament on October 28 in the ARCC. Proceeds benefit the HCC Hawk Athletic Booster Club.

    Date:
    Saturday, October 28, 2017 - 11:00am
  • Frostburg State University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Academic Advising area of the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Friday, October 6, 2017 - 10:00am
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 10:00am
  • BINGO

    Located in the Student Center Dining Hall. Free to play. Candy prizes.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 4:30pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 9:00am
    Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 9:00am
  • FAFSA Lab

    Need help completing your FAFSA? Members of the HCC Student Financial Aid Office will be available to help students complete their FAFSA during the above days and times in the Learning Resource Center, Room 335.

    Date:
    Friday, October 6, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, October 6, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, October 20, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 3, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, November 17, 2017 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 17, 2017 - 1:00pm
    Friday, December 1, 2017 - 9:00am
  • STEM Festival

    The 2017 STEM Festival will be held on Saturday, November 4 from 10 a.m. - 1 p.m. in the STEM Building. The festival will include science exhibits, hands-on activities, and competitions for students in K-12. Admission is free. Refreshments will be available.

    Date:
    Saturday, November 4, 2017 - 10:00am