The Latest from HCC


  • HCC to hold open forums to start presidential search process

    As officials at Hagerstown Community College begin the search process for the next college president, three one-hour open forums will be held on Tuesday, December 5, at 10 a.m., 1 p.m, and 5 p.m., in room 213 in the Career Programs Building. 

  • Scholarships available for HCC’s STEM students

    HCC's Student Financial Aid Office is currently accepting applications for the S-STEM scholarships, available for qualifying full-time students majoring in STEM programs at HCC during the 2017-18 academic year. The spring semester deadline is Friday, December 8. Spring classes begin on January 8. 

  • HCC names Warner as interim president

    The HCC Board of Trustees today approved the appointment of David Warner, HCC vice president of academic affairs and student services, to serve as the interim president when current President Guy Altieri retires on December 31. Warner will serve in that role until a replacement is named, later in 2018.

  • HCC inducts 65 students into TRiO Program

    The TRiO Student Support Services (SSS) program at Hagerstown Community College recently recognized 65 students who were accepted into the program within the past year. TRiO SSS is a unique program designed to assist first-generation and income-eligible students, and students with documented disabilities.

  • HCC releases 2017 edition of the Hedge Apple

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a reception for the most recent publication of its literary arts magazine, the Hedge Apple, on Tuesday, Nov. 14, at 5 p.m., in the Antietam Room in the Student Center. All contributors to the 2017 Hedge Apple are encouraged to come celebrate and read their original work. 

  • HCC to host annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series

    HCC will host the annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series on Thursday, Nov. 16, at 7 p.m., in the Kepler Center’s Black Box Theater. A celebrated performer of Japanese shakuhachi and Western flute, Nora Nohraku Suggs will present a lecture/demonstration of the shakuhachi (Japanese bamboo flute). 

  • HCC nursing students perform best of Maryland community colleges

    Students in the associate degree nursing program at HCC scored the highest of all of Maryland’s 16 community colleges for the NCLEX-RN first-time candidate exam, during the 2016-17 academic year. Among all the nursing programs in the state, HCC ranked second, immediately following Johns Hopkins University. 

  • Robinwood Players to perform “A Lie of the Mind”

    Hagerstown Community College’s Robinwood Players will perform Sam Shepard’s award-winning play, “A Lie of the Mind,” on December 1, 2, and 3, in the Kepler Theater on HCC’s main campus. Show times are 7 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 1, and Saturday, Dec. 2. A special matinee performance will be held on Sunday, Dec. 3 at 2:30 p.m. 

  • Kris Kringle Holiday Craft Show to be held at HCC

    The 34th annual Kris Kringle Holiday Craft Show will be held at Hagerstown Community College on Saturday, November 18, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, November 19, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., in the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC) on campus. 


  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Learning Resource Center (LRC), Room 254 (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot B. View directions and campus map online.

    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 4:00pm
  • Shippensburg University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Shippensburg University will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Advising & Registration Office located in the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 9:00am
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:00am
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to

    Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 9:00am
  • Business Club Trip to Annapolis

    HCC's Business Club will hold its annual trip to Annapolis on Friday, April 13, with meetings scheduled with the Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Leadership Maryland; and Senator Edward Riley, Vice-Chair, Finance Committee of Maryland State Government. The trip will also include a walking tour of Annapolis and a possible meeting with Governor Larry Hogan.

    Friday, April 13, 2018 (All day)
  • Tribute to Education Hosted by Brent Feight and BFM Architects

    The annual HCC Foundation Tribute Dinner will be held on Friday, April 13 at 6 p.m. in the ARCC. There will be a cocktail hour followed by dinner and the program. This year's event is hosted by Brent Feight and BFM Architects.

    Everyone is welcome to attend this gala celebration. To purchase tickets for the event, contact Stacey Crawford at 240-500-2213.

    Friday, April 13, 2018 - 6:00pm
  • Frostburg @ Hagerstown Transfer Advisor Visit for Psychology Majors

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University at Hagerstown will be on campus to meet with psychology majors in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to

    Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 10:30am
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 10:30am
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 10:30am
    Monday, April 16, 2018 - 10:30am