The Latest from HCC


  • HCC to hold fall student art exhibit in December

    Hagerstown Community College will hold its fall student art exhibit from Monday, Dec. 11, through Saturday, Dec. 16, in the Kepler Center on HCC’s main campus. The opening reception will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 12, from 5 to 7 p.m. This event is free and the public is invited to attend. 

  • HCC to hold open forums to start presidential search process

    As officials at Hagerstown Community College begin the search process for the next college president, three one-hour open forums will be held on Tuesday, December 5, at 10 a.m., 1 p.m, and 5 p.m., in room 213 in the Career Programs Building. 

  • Scholarships available for HCC’s STEM students

    HCC's Student Financial Aid Office is currently accepting applications for the S-STEM scholarships, available for qualifying full-time students majoring in STEM programs at HCC during the 2017-18 academic year. The spring semester deadline is Friday, December 8. Spring classes begin on January 8. 

  • HCC names Warner as interim president

    The HCC Board of Trustees today approved the appointment of David Warner, HCC vice president of academic affairs and student services, to serve as the interim president when current President Guy Altieri retires on December 31. Warner will serve in that role until a replacement is named, later in 2018.

  • HCC inducts 65 students into TRiO Program

    The TRiO Student Support Services (SSS) program at Hagerstown Community College recently recognized 65 students who were accepted into the program within the past year. TRiO SSS is a unique program designed to assist first-generation and income-eligible students, and students with documented disabilities.

  • HCC releases 2017 edition of the Hedge Apple

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a reception for the most recent publication of its literary arts magazine, the Hedge Apple, on Tuesday, Nov. 14, at 5 p.m., in the Antietam Room in the Student Center. All contributors to the 2017 Hedge Apple are encouraged to come celebrate and read their original work. 

  • HCC to host annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series

    HCC will host the annual Kreykenbohm Lecture Series on Thursday, Nov. 16, at 7 p.m., in the Kepler Center’s Black Box Theater. A celebrated performer of Japanese shakuhachi and Western flute, Nora Nohraku Suggs will present a lecture/demonstration of the shakuhachi (Japanese bamboo flute). 

  • HCC nursing students perform best of Maryland community colleges

    Students in the associate degree nursing program at HCC scored the highest of all of Maryland’s 16 community colleges for the NCLEX-RN first-time candidate exam, during the 2016-17 academic year. Among all the nursing programs in the state, HCC ranked second, immediately following Johns Hopkins University. 

  • Robinwood Players to perform “A Lie of the Mind”

    Hagerstown Community College’s Robinwood Players will perform Sam Shepard’s award-winning play, “A Lie of the Mind,” on December 1, 2, and 3, in the Kepler Theater on HCC’s main campus. Show times are 7 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 1, and Saturday, Dec. 2. A special matinee performance will be held on Sunday, Dec. 3 at 2:30 p.m. 


  • Lip Sync Battle

    Located in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm
  • Summer 2018 Tuition Payment Deadline

    For those who have already registered for Summer 2018 classes at HCC, tuition payment is due by April 20. Students must settle their respective accounts by using financial aid, paying their balance in full, or setting up a payment plan. For more information, contact the Finance Office at 240-500-2220.

    Friday, April 20, 2018 (All day)
  • Tech at the Hub

    This one-day event will bring together IT professionals, small business owners, government and educational organizations, and subject matter experts to discuss current trends and learn about innovative security solutions, cloud services, risk assessment, IOT, and wireless solutions.

    Friday, April 20, 2018 - 8:00am
  • Frostburg State University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University (Main Campus) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Advising and Registration Office, located in the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 10:00am
    Monday, March 26, 2018 - 10:00am
    Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 10:00am
    Friday, April 20, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00am