The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC’s Dental Education Clinic Accepting Patients

    The Dental Education Clinic at Hagerstown Community College is now accepting volunteer patients, starting September 12 on Mondays, 8 a.m. to 12 p.m., and Wednesdays, 8 a.m. to 12 p.m., and 1 to 5 p.m. Services are provided at a minimal cost and include preventive care such as dental cleanings and x-rays, and not restorative care, such as fillings, extractions or tooth repair. 

  • HCC announces new faculty and directors

    As the new school year begins at Hagerstown Community College, nine people have been named to fill a variety of full-time faculty and division director positions. Collectively, these new hires represent more than 95 years of industry experience and approximately 100 years of teaching experience. 

  • HCC Police Academy to host conference

    Hagerstown Community College Police Academy will host the inaugural 2016 Conference of the Maryland Tactical Officers Association (MDTOA), from September 18 to 20. To be eligible for the conference, participants must be sworn law enforcement officers in any jurisdiction. 

  • HCC’s Upward Bound program holding Zumbathon on August 28

    The TRiO Upward Bound Program at Hagerstown Community College will host a back-to-school Zumbathon on Sunday, Aug. 28, from 2 to 4 p.m., at the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC) on the HCC campus. This event is open to the public and there will be a $10 donation at the door. Donations will directly benefit the TRiO Upward Bound scholarship fund. 

  • HCC Hawk Booster Club member to compete in 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio

    Hagerstown Community College Hawk Booster Club member Markeith Price, 26, of Hagerstown, is visually impaired and will compete in the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Price joined the HCC Hawk Booster Club in February 2016 at a Hawk Trainer membership level. Leading up to the trials, Price had been training at HCC’s Fitness Center.

  • HCC extends hours in August for fall registration

    From Mon., Aug. 22 to Thurs., Aug. 25, academic advising and registration, the HCC Campus Store, and the information center in the Student Center will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. On Saturday, Aug. 27, Student Services will be open from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

  • HCC names Rohan as new athletic director

    Robert Rohan has been named director of athletics, physical education, and leisure studies at Hagerstown Community College.  As the new athletic director, Rohan is responsible for providing leadership and oversight to HCC’s 14 intercollegiate athletic teams, as well as credit and non-credit physical education and leisure studies academic programs. 

  • HCC to host 70th anniversary gala

    Hagerstown Community College will commemorate its 70th anniversary in September. A celebration gala will be held on Saturday, Sept. 24, at 6 p.m. at the Fountain Head Country Club. Alumni, retirees, and community members are invited to attend the anniversary gala.

  • HCC to offer portraiture class this fall

    Hagerstown Community College will offer a portraiture class on Thursday afternoons, from 1 to 4:35 p.m., beginning September 1, in the Kepler Center. The fall portraiture class is a three-credit, upper-level class for students with basic drawing skills who wish to broaden their ability to create strong visual images. 

  • HCC Alumni Association to host eight-day Caribbean cruise in 2017

    Hagerstown Community College’s Alumni Association will host its annual Alumni & Friends Cruise in winter 2017. The eight-day, seven-night cruise will be held from February 24 through March 3, 2017, aboard Holland America’s “ms Oosterdam” cruise ship. The cruise is open to the public and everyone is invited to attend. 

Events

  • BINGO

    Free to play.

    Date:
    Tuesday, November 22, 2016 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 4:30pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Lip Sync Battle

    You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, November 17, 2016 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 6:30pm
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 26, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 24, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 21, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 24, 2017 - 5:00pm