Skip to Content

Clubs and Organizations

Club and Organizanion MembersHCC offers students a wide variety of clubs and organizations in which to become involved. Membership in HCC clubs is open to all credit students. Club participation allows you to meet others with similar interests, learn leadership skills, have an impact on campus, and show co-curricular activity on your resume. Contact the club advisors, listed below, for information on each club.

If you are interested in organizing a new, special interest or academically related club, please contact the College Activities office at 240-500-2225 or email hbbarnhart@hagerstowncc.edu for the necessary information, applications and support.

All student clubs are required to have at least one faculty/staff advisor.

Reminder: If you are an existing HCC club and are interested in having a Facebook group for your club, you must obtain official approval from the Public Information Office prior to creating a Facebook group. Contact lmauk@hagerstowncc.edu for more information. View HCC's social networking guidelines here.


Current HCC Clubs

 

AIGA Club

Students interested in graphic design are encouraged to join this club, which is an official chapter of the professional association for design.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Sean Maher
Contact: stmaher@hagerstowncc.edu

Ellen Smith
Contact: elsmith@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the AIGA Club on Facebook.

 

Alternative Energy Club

This eco-friendly new club is for students who have an interest in all things green.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Anthony Valente
Contact: arvalente@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Alternative Energy Club on Facebook.

 

Anime Club

Anyone from a fan to a fanatic of anime is welcome to join students with similar interests.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Alicia Drumgoole
Contact: amdrumgoole@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Anime Club on Facebook.

 

Black Student Union (BSU)

BSU serves all students to enrich their understanding of African-American/Black History, culture, heritage, and lifestyles.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Monica Hutchins
Contact: mthutchins@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the BSU on Facebook.

Meeting Times: This club meets each Thursday from 4 to 5 p.m. in CPB-125.

 

Business Club

The HCC Business Club gives members the opportunity to learn, travel, and grow as a business professional.

Faculty/Staff Advisor: 
Jim Pierne
Contact: jgpierne@hagerstowncc.edu

Join HCC Business Club on Facebook.

 

Chess Club

The HCC Chess Club welcomes students at any level, from novice to expert. Equipment is supplied.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Brad Shepard
Contact: bgshepard@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Christian Fellowship Club

Enjoy fellowship, music and exploring teachings of the Bible during the weekly meeting. Currently, the club meets Tuesday evenings at 6 p.m. in the Student Center conference room.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Nancy Thorpe
Contact: nmthorpe@hagerstowncc.edu

Lori Spessard
Contact: ljspessard@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Christian Fellowship Club on Facebook.

 

Co-Rec Soccer Club

Love playing soccer for fun? Get together with other students for intramural play behind the ARCC Saturdays at 2:30 p.m. and Wednesday at 5 p.m. The club is open to all HCC students, men and women, and all skill levels are welcome.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Chris Baer Contact: wcbaer@hagerstowncc.edu

 

English Club

This club is dedicated to enhancing students’ classroom studies and offering literary experiences outside of the classroom. The club is open to students of all majors.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Amanda Miller
Contact: ahmiller@hagerstowncc.edu

Marti Grahl
Contact: mlgrahl@hagerstowncc.edu

Alicia Drumgoole
Contact: amdrumgoole@hagerstowncc.edu                 

Join the English Club on Facebook.

 

Future Educators Club

This club is open to students interested in pursuing a career in teaching and sponsors field trips, guest speakers, and classroom technology demonstrations. 

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Jeannine Stonestreet
Contact: jlstonestreet@hagerstowncc.edu

Mary Beth Chaney
Contact: mchaney@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Gaming Club

This group holds weekly video gaming days in the Student Center and hosts gaming tournaments. 

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Jamie Moore
Contact: jemoore@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Gaming Club on Facebook.

 

Gaming Development Club

This club exists to further develop the skills and abilities of students interested in the video game industry.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:

David Maruszewski Contact: dpmaruszewski@hagerstowncc.edu Join the Game Development Club on Facebook.

 

Information Technology Association (ITA)

This club’s goal is to further the knowledge-base of members beyond the normal academic curriculum and prepare members more aptly for careers within the technology fields.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Karen Weil-Yates
Contact: kdweil-yates@hagerstowncc.edu

Stephen Shank
Contact: spshank@hagerstowncc.edu

 

International Club

The International Club is open to all students who have an interest in learning about foreign cultures and discussing international topics. This is a growing club so students are encouraged to share ideas about possible club events or activities.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Luis Flores
Contact: ljflores@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Jui Jitsu Club

All levels are encouraged to join the Jui Jitsu club for intramural skill building.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
James Moore 
Contact: jemoore@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Lacrosse Club

This new club is for students who would like to hone their lacrosse skills with intramural play action.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Cindy Dove
Contact: cadove@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Math Club

The Math Club further educates its members in mathematical concepts, inspire and educate others in mathematics, and explores math that exists beyond the classroom.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Rebecca Kendrick
Contact: rakendrick@hagerstowncc.edu

Tom Crawford
Contact: tscrawford@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Math Club on Facebook.

 

National Organization for Women (NOW)

This club meets to discuss current topics, participates in fundraising activities, hosts speakers and goes of field trips

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Bonnie Errico
Contact: bjerrico@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the NOW Club on Facebook.

 

Outdoor Adventure Club

This club gives students the chance to get outside and take advantage of the wonderful hiking, biking, rafting and rappelling adventures that our region offers.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Bernie Murphy
Contact: bfmurphy@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Outdoor Adventure Club on Facebook.

 

Phi Theta Kappa

PTK is an international honor society that encourages scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship. Membership is by invitation.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Ashley Whaley
Contact: anwhaley@hagerstowncc.edu

Jennifer Szczesniak
Contactl: jsszczesniak@hagerstowncc.edu

Join PTK on Facebook.

*PTK Meeting Times: Member meetings are held the 4th Thursday of each month at 2:30 p.m. in the Career Programs Building, room 128. All members and interested parties are invited to attend.

Officer meetings are scheduled at various times during the month.  

Political Science Club

HCC's Poly Sci Club offers a non-partisan forum for discussion on current issues, field trips to government-related destinations, speaker forums, and more. The club is open to anyone with an interest political science, you don't have to be a poly sci major.Advisors: Eric SchwartzContact: mskowalsky@hagerstowncc.edu Andrew SmithContact: aasmith@hagerstowncc.edu 

Psychology Club: Club Mental

Club Mental promotes the practical application of psychology.   Advisor: Melinda Kowalsky Contact: mskowalsky@hagerstowncc.edu  

Radiography Club

The Radiography Club is open to students interested in pursuing a career in Radiography and serves as a vehicle to discuss topics relating to radiologic technology and the field of medicine.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Michelle McDaniel
Contact: mdmcdaniel@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Robinwood Players Theater Club

This club’s goals are to promote a better understanding of all aspects of the performing arts genre, and to foster the performing arts at HCC by providing opportunities to explore, develop, create, share, and support both dramatic and musical productions.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Robin Shaner
Contact: rlshaner@hagerstowncc.edu

Ben Burhman

Contact: bbburhman@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Robinwood Players Theater Club on Facebook.

 

Science Club

The Science Club promotes a better understanding of all aspects of science and provides educational activities related to science.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Veronica Stein
Contact: vmstein@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Science Club on Facebook.

 

Spectrum Club

The Spectrum Club consists of student who are open to and accepting of all identities. The primary goal is to create a safe environment for students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, questioning, and straight allies.

Faculty Advisor:
Ricky Martz

Contact: rlmartz@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Spectrum Club on Facebook.

 

Student Government Association (SGA)

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Heather Barnhart
Contact: hbbarnhart@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the SGA on Facebook. 

 

Student Nurses Association (SNA)

The SNA is open to students enrolled in the nursing program and fosters professionalism in nursing.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Teresa Weedon
Contact: tmweedon@hagerstowncc.edu

Lori Manilla
Contact: lamanilla@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the SNA on Facebook.

 

S.O.L.O (Supporting Our Little Ones)

This organization does several things to enhance the environment for children: fundraisers to replace or repair equipment, purchase supplies, organize family and friend activities, and a volunteer program to come in and read to children, do an art project, or any other activity or service to benefit the children and the Children’s Learning Center.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Brenda Butler
Contact: blbutler@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Veterans Club

The Student Veteran’s Club was created to offer support to students who are military veterans or family members.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
John Cordani

Contact: jrcordani@hagerstowncc.edu

David Bittorf

Contact: dcbittorf@hagerstowncc.edu


Join the Veterans Club on Facebook.

 

 

Any HCC staff or faculty member can serve as a club advisor. If interested, contact Heather Barnhart at hbbarnhart@hagerstowncc.edu for more information.