The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC graduates ninth class of Police Academy recruits

    Hagerstown Community College recently graduated its ninth class of Police Academy recruits. Following remarks from HCC Police Academy Director David Simonetti, HCC President Guy Altieri, and student speaker Deputy Ethan Messineo, students were awarded certificates to commend their achievement. 

  • HCC releases Presidential Profile

    Following the presidential search open forums that were held on December 5, with approximately 100 people in attendance, HCC’s Presidential Search Screening Committee met to develop the Presidential Profile.

  • HCC to hold fall student art exhibit in December

    Hagerstown Community College will hold its fall student art exhibit from Monday, Dec. 11, through Saturday, Dec. 16, in the Kepler Center on HCC’s main campus. The opening reception will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 12, from 5 to 7 p.m. This event is free and the public is invited to attend. 

  • HCC to hold open forums to start presidential search process

    As officials at Hagerstown Community College begin the search process for the next college president, three one-hour open forums will be held on Tuesday, December 5, at 10 a.m., 1 p.m, and 5 p.m., in room 213 in the Career Programs Building. 

  • Scholarships available for HCC’s STEM students

    HCC's Student Financial Aid Office is currently accepting applications for the S-STEM scholarships, available for qualifying full-time students majoring in STEM programs at HCC during the 2017-18 academic year. The spring semester deadline is Friday, December 8. Spring classes begin on January 8. 

  • HCC names Warner as interim president

    The HCC Board of Trustees today approved the appointment of David Warner, HCC vice president of academic affairs and student services, to serve as the interim president when current President Guy Altieri retires on December 31. Warner will serve in that role until a replacement is named, later in 2018.

  • HCC inducts 65 students into TRiO Program

    The TRiO Student Support Services (SSS) program at Hagerstown Community College recently recognized 65 students who were accepted into the program within the past year. TRiO SSS is a unique program designed to assist first-generation and income-eligible students, and students with documented disabilities.

Events

  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Learning Resource Center (LRC), Room 254 (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot B. For directions and campus map, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/about-hcc.

    Date:
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 4:00pm
  • BINGO

    Located in the Student Center Dining Hall. Free to play. Candy prizes.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 4:30pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 9:00am
  • HCC Futsal Tournament

    HCC will host a girls' and boys' Futsal Tournament benefiting the HCC Women’s Soccer Scholarship fund on Sunday, February 4 (boys) and Sunday, February 11 (girls). Players are guaranteed four games of at least 25 minutes of 5v5 play (four field players and one goal keeper). Divisions include: U-12,U-14,U-16,U-18 Girls & Boys.

    Date:
    Sunday, February 4, 2018 - 8:00am
    Sunday, February 11, 2018 - 8:00am
  • NARCAN Training

    Free NARCAN Training and Kit provided by the Washington County Health Department in the Student Center, Room 141. Reserve your spot for training by e-mailing hbbarnhart@hagerstowncc.edu.

    Date:
    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 2:30pm