The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC to host Career Closet Clothing Drive in February

    Hagerstown Community College’s Internship and Job Services Office has partnered with local businesses to collect clean and gently used or new professional clothing to assist HCC students to prepare for internships and employment interviews. Donations will be accepted throughout the month of February. 

  • HCC announces seminars for annual Flower & Garden Show

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association will hold its 24th Annual Flower & Garden Show on Saturday, March 17, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, March 18, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., in the ARCC. More than 150 vendors will take part in the show, named as one of the area’s premier events. 

  • Gymkana Troupe to perform at HCC on March 2

    Hagerstown Community College will host the University of Maryland Gymkana Troupe on Friday, March 2, beginning at 7 p.m., in the college’s Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC). 

  • HCC names three finalists in presidential search

    The Hagerstown Community College Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the selection of three finalists for the presidency of HCC, following a nationwide search which resulted in 60 applicants. The finalists, in alphabetical order, are James S. Klauber, Sr., of Madison, Ala.; Ted A. Lewis, of Knoxville, Tenn.; and C. David Warner, III, of Hagerstown. 

  • HCC to hold ESSENCE information night for high school students

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a special information night for students interested in HCC’s ESSENCE Early College Program on Tuesday, March 6, from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m., in the Career Programs Building, rooms 210 to 214. The ESSENCE Program allows students to earn college credit while still attending high school. 

  • HCC literary magazine accepting submissions worldwide

    Hagerstown Community College’s literary magazine, the Hedge Apple, is no longer limited to submissions from HCC students and faculty. Contributors worldwide are encouraged to submit stories, poems, and artwork, as well as video, audio, and mixed media submissions. In addition to being open for general submissions on a rolling basis, submissions are now being accepted for upcoming themed issues.

  • HCC’s Robinwood Players Theater Club awards scholarship

    Hagerstown Community College’s Robinwood Players Theater Club recently awarded its club scholarship to member Heather Wallen, of Hagerstown. The scholarships are given to students who demonstrate dedication to the club, as well as academic achievement and interest in the performing arts field. 

  • Golden ticket to provide $100 towards continuing education course

     A handful of local residents will receive a golden ticket inside their continuing education spring and summer course schedule. The golden ticket is good for $100 towards a continuing education course this spring or summer at HCC, including College for Kids summer camps.

Events

  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Learning Resource Center (LRC), Room 254 (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot B. View directions and campus map online.

    Date:
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 4:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 9:00am
  • FAFSA Lab

    Need help completing your FAFSA? Members of the HCC Student Financial Aid Office will be available to help students complete their FAFSA during the above days and times in the STEM Building, Room 102.

    Date:
    Monday, February 19, 2018 - 9:00am
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 9:00am
    Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 9:00am
    Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 9:00am
  • Spring Transfer Fair

    The Spring Transfer Fair will be held Monday, February 26, 2018, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Main Dining Room of the Student Center.

    Date:
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 25, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 22, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 23, 2018 - 5:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 9:00am
  • Frostburg State University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University (Main Campus) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Advising and Registration Office, located in the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 10:00am
    Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 10:00am