The Latest from HCC


  • HCC to host college fair on October 12

    The 2016 Washington County College Fair will be held on Wednesday, October 12 from 6 to 8 p.m. in the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center at Hagerstown Community College. Representatives from more than 100 colleges, universities, and technical schools in the Mid-Atlantic region will be there to meet with prospective students. 

  • HCC to offer personal finance course

    The Continuing Education and Workforce Development Division at Hagerstown Community College will offer a series of classes on Tuesdays in October, entitled “Financial GPS Series.” The series is designed to help participants navigate and understand personal credit scores, debt and credit, short-term and long-term financial goals, and financial security. 

  • HCC nursing assistant students score above state and national averages

    Students in the certified nursing assistant/geriatric nursing assistant program at Hagerstown Community College performed better than the state and national averages on the skills and written portions of the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX), administered by the Maryland Board of Nursing. 

  • Hopkins named as HCC head men’s basketball coach

    Bernard Hopkins has been named the new head men’s basketball coach at Hagerstown Community College. Hopkins is a graduate of and former player at HCC and has played collegiate and professional basketball for the Colonial Athletic Association, Continental Basketball Association, and Association Club Basketball.

  • HCC named as top college

    The Washington Monthly recently released its first-ever listing of the best colleges for adult learners, and Hagerstown Community College ranked number 42 of all two-year colleges across the country. HCC is one of four of Maryland’s 16 community colleges to be named in the list of 100. 

  • HCC Middle College to hold info sessions

    Program information sessions for the STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, medical) Technical Middle College at Hagerstown Community College will be held on Wednesday., Sept. 14, and Wednesday., Oct. 12, at 4 p.m., in the STEM Building, room 409. 

  • U.S. Navy Country Current to perform Sept. 17 at HCC

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association will host the U.S. Navy Country Current as part of its annual Red, White and Blue Summer Concert Series, on Saturday, Sept. 17, at 6:15 p.m., in HCC’s Alumni Amphitheater. The Country Current is a seven-member country-bluegrass ensemble originally formed in 1973 under the leadership of banjo player Bill Emerson.

  • HCC to offer adult education services at Frederick Manor

    Hagerstown Community College has entered into an agreement with the Hagerstown Housing Authority to provide adult education/GED preparation educational services onsite at Frederick Manor, a facility operated by the Hagerstown Housing Authority. 

  • HCC offers fall late-start classes

    The fall semester is underway at Hagerstown Community College, but there is still time to register for late-start fall classes. Shorter sessions begin October 5, October 24, and November 9. Students who missed the initial financial aid deadline for fall still have time to apply and register, if they act quickly. 

  • HCC receives $500,000 ARC grant

    Hagerstown Community College has been awarded a $500,000 grant from the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) to help support a renovation of the Learning Resource Center.  In addition to the ARC funds, local sources will provide $32,346 and state sources will provide $681,704, bringing the total project funding to $1,214,050. 


  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) Building (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot K. For directions and campus map, go to

    Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Thursday, July 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, August 10, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, September 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 4:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from University of Maryland – University College will be on campus to meet with interested students from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to

    Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, December 1, 2016 - 10:00am
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Shippensburg University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Shippensburg University will be on campus to meet with interested students from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the Academic Advising area in the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Wednesday, September 21, 2016 - 9:00am
    Tuesday, October 25, 2016 - 9:00am
    Monday, November 14, 2016 - 9:00am
  • Business Club Meeting

    HCC's Business Club will meet in the Student Center, room 141. The topic will be "Maximizing the Use of Marketing and Social Media to Enhance Small Business Success." Representatives from High Rock Studios in Hagerstown, Maryland are slated to attend.

    Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 2:30pm
  • Career Workshop Series

    HCC's Internship and Job Services department will offer a Career Workshop Series during the fall 2016 semester on selected Tuesdays at 2:30 p.m. All workshops will be held in the Student Center Life Skills Lab, room 170. To pre-register for a workshop, contact Hillary Ware at

    Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, October 4, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, November 8, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, December 6, 2016 - 2:30pm