The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC to host NJCAA Region XX Division II Volleyball Tournament on November 5 and 6

    Hagerstown Community College will host the NJCAA Region XX Division II Volleyball Tournament on Saturday, November 5, and Sunday, November 6, at the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC) on campus. On Saturday, there will be a quarterfinal round beginning at 10 a.m., followed by the semifinal round at 2 p.m. On Sunday, the Championship Game begins at 12 p.m., followed by tournament awards. 

  • HCC graduates 12 in veterinary assistant program

    Twelve students recently graduated from the veterinary assistant program at Hagerstown Community College. The class started in February and concluded on October 10. In addition to attending the classroom lectures, students performed 25 hours of individual clinical work, prepared a portfolio, and gave a presentation on their portfolio, during the final night of class. 

  • HCC students to perform “Stardust” Nov 4-6

    Students in Hagerstown Community College’s introduction to theater class will perform Walter Kerr’s classic American comedy “Stardust,” from Friday, Nov. 4, through Sunday, Nov. 6, in the Kepler Black Box Theater. 

  • Industrial Commons to celebrate first year

    Industrial Commons, a tenant in the Technical Innovation Center at Hagerstown Community College, will hold a one-year anniversary celebration on Saturday, Nov. 12, from 1 to 5 p.m. in the TIC. The event is free and open to the public and will include demonstrations and workshops for people of all ages. The highlights include live 3D printer demos, an introduction to 3D design, and member project exhibits. 

  • HCC reaching out to military medics

    The nursing staff and faculty at Hagerstown Community College are reaching out to help facilitate the transition of military medics and corpsmen into the practical or associate degree nursing programs. 

  • HCC releases 2016 edition of the Hedge Apple

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a reception for the most recent publication of its literary arts magazine, the Hedge Apple, on Tuesday, Nov. 8, from 6 to 8 p.m., in the Antietam Room in the Student Center. This event is free and is open to the public.

  • HCC Volleyball Team to host breast cancer fundraising event

    Hagerstown Community College’s Women’s Hawk Volleyball Team will host a fundraising event to benefit the fight against breast cancer on Friday, Oct. 21, at 6 p.m., at the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC) on campus. All proceeds from the game donated to Breast Cancer Awareness – Cumberland Valley, Inc. 

  • Field Trip to Gov. Hogan’s Cabinet Meeting at Maryland Theatre

    Maryland Governor Larry Hogan and his cabinet members will conduct a public cabinet meeting at the Maryland Theatre in Hagerstown on Thursday, Oct. 13. HCC students are invited to attend the meeting beginning at 10 a.m. HCC will provide transportation to and from the Maryland Theatre. 

Events

  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am
  • MLK Day Observed - HCC Closed

    HCC closed for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. No classes will be held and all administrative offices will be closed.

    Date:
    Monday, January 16, 2017 (All day)
  • Lip Sync Battle

    You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, November 17, 2016 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 6:30pm
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 26, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 24, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 21, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 24, 2017 - 5:00pm
  • BINGO

    Free to play.

    Date:
    Tuesday, November 22, 2016 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 4:30pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am