The Latest from HCC

News

  • Gymkana Troupe to perform at HCC on March 2

    Hagerstown Community College will host the University of Maryland Gymkana Troupe on Friday, March 2, beginning at 7 p.m., in the college’s Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC). 

  • HCC names three finalists in presidential search

    The Hagerstown Community College Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the selection of three finalists for the presidency of HCC, following a nationwide search which resulted in 60 applicants. The finalists, in alphabetical order, are James S. Klauber, Sr., of Madison, Ala.; Ted A. Lewis, of Knoxville, Tenn.; and C. David Warner, III, of Hagerstown. 

  • HCC to hold ESSENCE information night for high school students

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a special information night for students interested in HCC’s ESSENCE Early College Program on Tuesday, March 6, from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m., in the Career Programs Building, rooms 210 to 214. The ESSENCE Program allows students to earn college credit while still attending high school. 

  • HCC literary magazine accepting submissions worldwide

    Hagerstown Community College’s literary magazine, the Hedge Apple, is no longer limited to submissions from HCC students and faculty. Contributors worldwide are encouraged to submit stories, poems, and artwork, as well as video, audio, and mixed media submissions. In addition to being open for general submissions on a rolling basis, submissions are now being accepted for upcoming themed issues.

  • HCC’s Robinwood Players Theater Club awards scholarship

    Hagerstown Community College’s Robinwood Players Theater Club recently awarded its club scholarship to member Heather Wallen, of Hagerstown. The scholarships are given to students who demonstrate dedication to the club, as well as academic achievement and interest in the performing arts field. 

  • Golden ticket to provide $100 towards continuing education course

     A handful of local residents will receive a golden ticket inside their continuing education spring and summer course schedule. The golden ticket is good for $100 towards a continuing education course this spring or summer at HCC, including College for Kids summer camps.

  • Registration now open for HCC’s College for Kids summer program

    Hagerstown Community College will begin another summer of College for Kids programming on June 18. Registration is now open for week-long courses that cover a variety of exciting subjects for students in elementary through high school. Of the nearly 100 camps offered, more than 20 are new this summer. 

Events

  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 9:00am
    Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 9:00am
  • Volleyball Camp for Grades 5-12

    Volleyball camp will be offered at Hagerstown Community College this summer from July 30 to August 2, for students in grades five through 12. Come one day to work on a specific skill, or come all week to get some help on every position!

    Date:
    Monday, July 30, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 5:00pm
  • Red, White and Blue Concert Series

    The Annual “Red, White & Blue” Concert Series

    All concerts will be held in the Alumni Amphitheater at 6:15 p.m. and are free and open to the public.

    Date:
    Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Saturday, June 23, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Monday, June 25, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Saturday, July 7, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Sunday, July 15, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Monday, August 6, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Saturday, August 18, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Saturday, September 1, 2018 - 6:15pm
    Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 6:15pm
  • Fall 2018 Tuition Payment Deadline

    For those who have already registered for Fall 2018 classes at HCC, tuition payment is due by August 10. Students must settle their respective accounts by using financial aid, paying their balance in full, or setting up a payment plan. For more information, contact the Finance Office at 240-500-2220.

    Date:
    Friday, August 10, 2018 (All day)
  • Manufacturing 4.0 - Creating a Skilled Workforce

    This one-day conference, sponsored by the National Science Foundation, will be held on August 14, 2018, from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Attendees will learn about the latest trends and opportunities in this surging segment of industry and will have the opportunity to network with regional industry, educators, and students who are stakeholders in creating the new workforce.

    Events Include:

    Date:
    Tuesday, August 14, 2018 - 8:30am