The Latest from HCC

News

  • Newly approved biological/physical science general education course

    Hagerstown Community College’s academic affairs division recently approved Kitchen Chemistry (CHM-107/107L) as a biological/physical science general education requirement. Intended for the non-major, this course introduces the fundamental concepts of inorganic and organic chemistry through the perspective of food and cooking. 

  • Maryland Defense Force Band to perform June 19 at HCC

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association will host the Maryland Defense Force Band as part of its annual Red, White and Blue Summer Concert Series, on Sunday, June 19, at 6:15 p.m., at HCC’s Alumni Amphitheater. 

  • Registration open for HCC STEMM Technical Middle College Summer Bridge Program

    Registration is open for the Hagerstown Community College one-week STEMM Technical Middle College (STMC) Summer Bridge Program. The program is free and runs from Monday, June 20 to Friday, June 24, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. The Summer Bridge Program is designed for ninth through 12th grade students who are interested in the STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, medical) career fields. 

  • HCC dental clinic receives donation

    The Dental Education Clinic at Hagerstown Community College recently received a generous monetary donation from Associated Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, Drs. Jon Pike, Howard Nelson, and Nahla Chaudhary. The money was used to purchase a new ultrasonic instrument cleaner, a mobile 25-foot divider wall, a new power scaler foot pedal, and several teaching mouth models. 

  • HCC to offer advanced manufacturing free summer institute for high school students

    Hagerstown Community College will offer an Advanced Manufacturing Institute this summer for area high school students and graduates. This competitive program provides three college credits at the completion of the summer program. Funding from the National Science Foundation allows students to attend the institute for free. It will be held from July 19 to August 22, on Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 1 to 4:30 p.m. 

  • Free showing of Zootopia at HCC

    Hagerstown Community College’s Student Government Association will host a free showing of Disney’s action film, “Zootopia,” on Friday, June 10, and Saturday, June 11, in the Student Center on HCC’s main campus. Show times are 6 p.m. on June 10 and 2 p.m. on June 11. This event is free and is open to the public and tickets are not required. 

  • College for Kids Summer Program to begin June 20

    Hagerstown Community College will begin another summer of College for Kids programming on June 20. The week-long courses cover a variety of exciting subjects for students in elementary through high school. Classes start June 20 and continue through the week of August 1. 

Events

  • USM at Hagerstown Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from USM at Hagerstown Center will be on campus to meet with interested students from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 22, 2016 - 11:00am
    Monday, October 24, 2016 - 11:00am
    Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 11:00am
    Tuesday, November 29, 2016 - 11:00am
  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) Building (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot K. For directions and campus map, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/about-hcc.

    Date:
    Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Thursday, July 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, August 10, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, September 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 4:00pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from University of Maryland – University College will be on campus to meet with interested students from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, December 1, 2016 - 10:00am
  • Dental Practice Update

    Course: HCE-013-E | Location: CPB 211/213 | Registration Fee: $176

    For more information or to register, contact registration at 240-500-2236. Registration opens July 1, 2016.

    Date:
    Friday, November 11, 2016 (All day)
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Shippensburg University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Shippensburg University will be on campus to meet with interested students from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the Academic Advising area in the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 21, 2016 - 9:00am
    Tuesday, October 25, 2016 - 9:00am
    Monday, November 14, 2016 - 9:00am
  • Business Club Meeting

    HCC's Business Club will meet in the Student Center, room 141. The topic will be "Maximizing the Use of Marketing and Social Media to Enhance Small Business Success." Representatives from High Rock Studios in Hagerstown, Maryland are slated to attend.

    Date:
    Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 2:30pm
  • Career Workshop Series

    HCC's Internship and Job Services department will offer a Career Workshop Series during the fall 2016 semester on selected Tuesdays at 2:30 p.m. All workshops will be held in the Student Center Life Skills Lab, room 170. To pre-register for a workshop, contact Hillary Ware at hnware@hagerstowncc.edu

    Date:
    Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, October 4, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, November 8, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, December 6, 2016 - 2:30pm