The Latest from HCC

News

  • 5K “Turkey Trot” to be held at HCC

    Hagerstown Community College’s athletic teams will host the 16th annual “Turkey Trot” 5K run/walk/kids races and food/toy drive on Thanksgiving Day, November 24, on the HCC campus.

  • Kris Kringle Holiday Craft Show to be held at HCC

    The 33rd annual Kris Kringle Holiday Craft Show will be held at Hagerstown Community College on Saturday, November 19, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, November 20, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., in the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC) on campus. 

  • HCC nursing students tie for second highest score in state

    Students in the associate degree nursing program at Hagerstown Community College tied for the second highest score among Maryland’s 16 community colleges for the NCLEX-RN first-time candidate exam, during the 2015-2016 academic year. Seventy-three of 81 students passed the exam for an overall pass rate of 90.12 percent.

  • HCC stopping point for bus to TEDCO Expo

    Bus transportation will be available from Hagerstown Community College to attend the TEDCO Entrepreneur Expo in Baltimore on Monday, November 14. The bus will depart from HCC at 4:30 p.m. on November 13, with an overnight stay at the Baltimore Hilton. 

  • HCC Middle College to hold info sessions

     Program information sessions for the STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, medical) Technical Middle College at Hagerstown Community College will be held on Wednesday, Nov. 9, and Wednesday, Dec. 7, at 4 p.m., in the STEM Building, room 409. 

  • HCC holds fall fest at Children’s Learning Center

    The Children’s Learning Center at Hagerstown Community College held its annual Fall Fest on October 14. Pumpkins were donated by Martin’s Foods Stores on Dual Highway and North Pointe Drive, and each of the 75 enrolled children picked a pumpkin to take home from the campus “pumpkin patch.”

  • HCC to host NJCAA Region XX Division II Volleyball Tournament on November 5 and 6

    Hagerstown Community College will host the NJCAA Region XX Division II Volleyball Tournament on Saturday, November 5, and Sunday, November 6, at the Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC) on campus. On Saturday, there will be a quarterfinal round beginning at 10 a.m., followed by the semifinal round at 2 p.m. On Sunday, the Championship Game begins at 12 p.m., followed by tournament awards. 

  • HCC graduates 12 in veterinary assistant program

    Twelve students recently graduated from the veterinary assistant program at Hagerstown Community College. The class started in February and concluded on October 10. In addition to attending the classroom lectures, students performed 25 hours of individual clinical work, prepared a portfolio, and gave a presentation on their portfolio, during the final night of class. 

  • HCC students to perform “Stardust” Nov 4-6

    Students in Hagerstown Community College’s introduction to theater class will perform Walter Kerr’s classic American comedy “Stardust,” from Friday, Nov. 4, through Sunday, Nov. 6, in the Kepler Black Box Theater. 

  • Industrial Commons to celebrate first year

    Industrial Commons, a tenant in the Technical Innovation Center at Hagerstown Community College, will hold a one-year anniversary celebration on Saturday, Nov. 12, from 1 to 5 p.m. in the TIC. The event is free and open to the public and will include demonstrations and workshops for people of all ages. The highlights include live 3D printer demos, an introduction to 3D design, and member project exhibits. 

Events

  • BINGO

    Free to play.

    Date:
    Tuesday, November 22, 2016 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 4:30pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 2, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 23, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, April 13, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Annual Foundation Tribute

    A tribute to arts and education hosted by Tom Newcomer. Proceeds benefit HCC student scholarships.

    Date:
    Friday, April 7, 2017 - 6:00pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Frostburg State University Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from Frostburg State University, Main Campus or Hagerstown Center will be on campus to meet with interested students in the Academic Advising area of the Student Center. An appointment is required. To schedule an appointment, call 240-500-2530.

    Date:
    Friday, March 3, 2017 - 10:00am
    Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Career Workshop Series

    HCC's Internship and Job Services department will offer a Career Workshop Series during the spring 2017 semester on selected Tuesdays at 2:30 p.m. All workshops will be held in the Student Center Life Skills Lab, room 170. To pre-register for a workshop, contact Hillary Ware at hnware@hagerstowncc.edu

    Date:
    Tuesday, February 7, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, February 28, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 2:30pm
  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from the University of Maryland - University College (UMUC) will be on campus to meet with interested students from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center Lobby. An appointment is not required.

    Date:
    Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 2, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 23, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 10:00am
    Thursday, April 13, 2017 - 10:00am
  • USM at Hagerstown Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from USM at Hagerstown Center will be on campus to meet with interested students from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Wednesday, February 8, 2017 - 11:00am
    Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 11:00am
    Thursday, April 13, 2017 - 11:00am
    Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 11:00am