The Latest from HCC

News

  • Student volunteers needed for HCC’s College for Kids program

    Hagerstown Community College’s Volunteer Services department is looking for high school students to volunteer for this summer’s College for Kids program. High school students ages 15 and up can earn community service hours while committing to work for five days in a class.This year, HCC will host six, one-week sessions from June 20 to August 5. 

  • HCC Middle College to hold info sessions

    Program information sessions for the STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, medical) Technical Middle College at Hagerstown Community College will be held on Wed., May 4; Tues., May 24; and Tues., June 7, at 4 p.m., in the STEM Building, room 409. Seating is limited, so please call 240-500-2483 or email tlthorn@hagerstowncc.edu to reserve seats. 

  • Job Training Student Resources (JTSR) program accepting applications

    Hagerstown Community College’s Job Training Student Resources (JTSR) department has services in place to help qualifying students reach their educational goals. Support services include providing assistance with loaner textbooks, childcare or transportation stipends, and individualized advising.

  • HCC launches Cyber Leadership Institute

     Hagerstown Community College recently launched a Cyber Leadership Institute to provide students the opportunity to learn and practice soft skills that include resume development, mock interviews, interview attire, and leadership skills to prepare them for their future careers. Eight students were chosen to participate in the first cohort of the eight-week program. 

  • Veterans Information Day April 27

    Hagerstown Community College will host a Veterans Information Day on Wednesday, April 27, from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., in the Student Center. New students will learn more about going to college and the admissions, advising, and financial aid process, along with a campus tour. 

  • HCC awards management certificates

    The Continuing Education Department at Hagerstown Community College awarded the American Management Association certificate for General Management and Human Relations on April 7 to nine students who completed the seven-course, 49-hour program at HCC’s Valley Mall Center. 

  • HCC to hold multicultural student information night

    Hagerstown Community College will hold a special information night for multicultural students on Tuesday, May 3, at 6:30 p.m., in the Elliott Center in the Career Programs Building on HCC’s main campus. Advance registration is required. Call 240-500-2572 to reserve your seat by May 2. 

  • HCC chamber, jazz, and choral ensemble concert April 25

    The English and Humanities Division at Hagerstown Community College will hold a concert on Monday, April 25, at 7 p.m., in the Kepler Theater for the chamber, jazz, and choral ensembles. The concerts are free and open to the public.

  • HCC students to perform “An Evening of Dance”

    The English and Humanities Division at Hagerstown Community College will hold “An Evening of Dance,” on Saturday, April 30, at 7 p.m., in the Kepler Theater. The event will feature students from HCC’s Dance Company and dance classes. Guest choreographers include HCC graduate Mary Teal Mulligan and Kelsy Rupp from Light Switch Dance Company. 

Events

  • UMUC Transfer Advisor Visit

    A transfer advisor from University of Maryland – University College will be on campus to meet with interested students from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center lobby. No appointment necessary. For a full list of upcoming visits from four-year schools, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/advisement/transfer-visits-events.

    Date:
    Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 8, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 10:00am
    Thursday, December 1, 2016 - 10:00am
  • Career Workshop Series

    HCC's Internship and Job Services department will offer a Career Workshop Series during the fall 2016 semester on selected Tuesdays at 2:30 p.m. All workshops will be held in the Student Center Life Skills Lab, room 170. To pre-register for a workshop, contact Hillary Ware at hnware@hagerstowncc.edu

    Date:
    Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, October 4, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, November 8, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 2:30pm
    Tuesday, December 6, 2016 - 2:30pm
  • Business Club Meeting

    HCC's Business Club will meet in the Student Center, room 141. This meeting will be hosted by Janice Riley from the Technical Innovation Center on campus. This meeting will provide a tour of the TIC and a panel discussion with current business owners using the TIC, narrated by Janice Riley, TIC Manager.

    Date:
    Tuesday, December 6, 2016 - 2:30pm
  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) Building (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot K. For directions and campus map, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/about-hcc.

    Date:
    Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Thursday, July 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, August 10, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, September 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 4:00pm
  • FAFSA Lab

    Student Financial Aid will sponsor FAFSA Labs in the Learning Resource Center, Room 335.

    Date:
    Friday, October 7, 2016 - 9:00am
    Friday, October 7, 2016 - 1:00pm
    Friday, October 21, 2016 - 1:00pm
    Friday, November 4, 2016 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 18, 2016 - 9:00am
    Friday, November 18, 2016 - 1:00pm
    Friday, December 9, 2016 - 9:00am
  • An Evening of Song and Dance

    Come spend an evening being entertained by HCC’s dance and musical theater students. This concert features classical ballet, up-tempo jazz and tap numbers, modern and contemporary dance, as well as vocal performances from HCC Musical Theater students. This event is free to all and open to the public.

    Date:
    Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 8:00pm