The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC’s College for Kids to offer tech classes for middle school girls

    The College for Kids program at Hagerstown Community College will offer a special group of technology classes this summer, targeting middle school girls entering grades six to eight. Through funding from JLG Industries, Inc., and a grant from the National Science Foundation, these classes are offered for the reduced cost of $8 each.

  • Gymkana Troupe to perform at HCC on March 3

    Hagerstown Community College will host the University of Maryland Gymkana Troupe on Friday, March 3, beginning at 7 p.m., in the college’s Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC). Well known for its high energy performances, Gymkana Troupe performs both men’s and women’s gymnastic apparatus routines, as well as novelty circus acts that incorporate the use of chairs, ladders, and trampolines. 

  • HCC’s College for Kids celebrates 30 years

    The College for Kids program at Hagerstown Community College will celebrate its 30th anniversary this summer. The series of week-long courses covers a variety of subjects for students in elementary grades through high school. The program has been extended to seven weeks this year, starting June 19 and running through August 11. 

  • Golden ticket to provide $100 towards continuing education course

    The Continuing Education and Workforce Development division at Hagerstown Community College will deliver its spring and summer course schedule in February. A handful of local residents will receive a golden ticket inside their schedule. The golden ticket is good for $100 towards a continuing education course this spring or summer at HCC. 

  • HCC’s Children’s Learning Center holds fundraiser

    The Children’s Learning Center at Hagerstown Community College held its first “Hearts on Parade,” a special event to raise funds for activities for the children, including field trips, family picnics, a magic show, and the annual petting zoo. Approximately 50 children participated, raising more than $1500 through individual sponsorships. 

  • HCC’s Technical Innovation Center to offer selling workshop

    The Technical Innovation Center at Hagerstown Community College will offer a three-part series workshop entitled, “Sell or Die,” on Wednesdays, Feb. 22 through March 8, from 8:30 to 10:30 a.m., in suite 323 of the TIC. Led by Mike Sparks, president and CEO of Signera, the workshop will offer insight as to what makes consumers buy and why they don’t, as well as the best ways to communicate the value of doing business with your company. 

  • HCC to host NSO trip and Kennedy Center tour

    The Continuing Education and Workforce Development Division at Hagerstown Community College is offering a bus trip to attend a National Symphony Orchestra concert and tour of the Kennedy Center, on Friday, March 3. The concert features violinist Simone Lamsma, who makes her NSO debut in Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto.

  • HCC announces seminars for annual Flower & Garden Show

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association will hold its 23rd Annual Flower & Garden Show on Saturday, March 11, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, March 12, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., in the ARCC. A variety of vendors will take part in the show, named as one of the area’s premier events. 

  • Vendors wanted for HCC’s annual Flower & Garden Show

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association is currently seeking vendors and exhibitors for its annual Flower & Garden Show, which will be held on Saturday, March 11, and Sunday, March 12, 2017, at the college’s Athletic, Recreation and Community Center (ARCC).

Events

  • Lip Sync Battle

    Located in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Business Club Meeting

    HCC's Business Club will meet in the Student Center, room 141. The topic will be "What it takes to Acquire a Patent, Trademark, or Copyright." The presenter will be Jeanne Singer, Singer Law, located in Hagerstown.

    Date:
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 2:30pm
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 25, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 22, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 23, 2018 - 5:00pm
  • Spring Break 2018 - No Classes Held

    Spring Break will be held for faculty and students from March 4 through March 10, 2018. No classes will be held during that time.

    Administrative offices will remain open from March 5 through March 8 of that week, but will close for staff spring break on March 9. The entire campus will be closed on March 9, 2018.

    Date:
    Sunday, March 4, 2018 (All day)
  • Staff Spring Break 2018 - HCC Closed

    HCC will be closed for staff spring break on March 9, 2018. No classes will be held and all administrative offices will be closed.

    Date:
    Friday, March 9, 2018 (All day)
  • BINGO

    Located in the Student Center Dining Hall. Free to play. Candy prizes.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 4:30pm