Skip to Content

Networking Technology

The Networking Technology Program offers curriculum covering network concepts, network operating systems, network management, network design and network security. Wireless fundamental and TCP/IP are included. HCC is a partner in the CyberWATCH consortium. CyberWATCH provides assistance to its partner institutions for curriculum development and mapping of courses to the National Security Telecommunications and Information Systems Security (NSTISSI) 4011 and 4013 standards. Curriculum development emphasizes building Associate's degree programs from a set of core technical courses that, in addition to meeting 4011 and/or 4013 standards, help prepare students for several industry certifications including:

  • CompTIA's A+, Network+, and Security+
  • Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)
  • Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA)
  • Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP)
  • Security Certified Network Professional (SCNP)

Career Options: Help Desk Support Analyst, PC Specialist, Network Administrator, Network Engineer, Systems Engineer, Wireless Specialist, Technical Instructor, Security Specialist

Career Outlook: Bureau of Labor Statistics website for Computer Support Specialists and Systems Administrators

Program Requirements

Center for Academic Excellence in Information Assurance

The National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security are also pleased to announce the completion of the pilot year of the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance two-year Education (CAE2Y) program. Six (6) Community Colleges received this designation for years 2010 through 2015. This program was established as a means of providing recognition to institutions that serve as models for two-year institutions by providing innovative, comprehensive and multidisciplinary education and training in the Information Assurance/Cyber Security field.

  • Anne Arundel Community College Maryland
  • Hagerstown Community College Maryland
  • Moraine Valley Community College Illinois
  • Oklahoma City Community College Oklahoma
  • Prince George’s Community College Maryland
  • Rose State Community College Oklahoma

There are now a total of 106 colleges and universities designated as CAE/IAE and 47 CAE-R. Thirty-seven (37) institutions are designated as both CAE/IAE and CAE-R. They are located in 39 states, the District of Columbia (3) and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. The top eight states with the most participating institutions are: Texas (9), Pennsylvania (7), Maryland (7), California (6), Illinois (6), New York (6), Georgia (4) and New Jersey (5). With the addition of the 6 Community Colleges, there are 125 institutions participating in all of the CAE Programs.

Presentation of the award to Hagerstown Community College as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance 2 Year Education took place June 8, 2010.

From Left to right John Mathews, Executive Secretary, Committee on National Security Systems, Roberta Stempfley, National Cyber Security Division Director, Department of Homeland Security, Stephen Shank, Networking Technology Associate Professor, Hagerstown Community College, Margaret Spivey, Director of Technology and Computer Studies, Hagerstown Community College, The Honorable Howard A. Schmidt, CISSP, CSSLP, Special Assistant to the President and Cybersecurity Coordinator, Dr. Guy Altieri, President of Hagerstown Community College, Debora Plunkett, Information Assurance Director, National Security Agency.

In The News

On June 3, 2009 HCC's Networking Technology program was honored at the 13th Annual Colloquium for Information Systems Education (CISSE) by the United States Government National Security Agency (NSA) and the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS). The Networking Technology program received designation as successfully meeting the National Training Standard for Information Systems Security Professionals, NSTISSI No. 4011 and System Administrators, CNSSI No. 4013E. Mr. David Wennergren, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Information Management and Technology & DoD Deputy Chief Information Officer, presented the designation to Margaret Spivey, Director of Technology and Computer Studies.

Hagerstown Community College is a member of CyberWATCH, a National Science Foundation Advanced Technological Education (ATE) Center which focuses on the education of technicians for the high-technology fields that drive our nation’s economy. CyberWATCH is a consortium of higher education institutions, businesses, and government agencies whose mission is to improve the quantity and quality of the information security/assurance workforce. The affiliation with CyberWATCH allows HCC’s instructors to collaborate to share best practices, methodologies, curricula, course modules and materials, and to receive training and support. For more information see

Steve Shank is the lead instructor for HCC’s Networking Technology program. The alignment of our program with the CyberWATCH model and receiving designations for NSA 4011 and 4013E assures that students will receive quality information security education that is recognized throughout the state of Maryland and Washington, DC metropolitan area. This program offers students two options: Network Administrator and Network Security. In this program of study students receive education in Cisco network systems, CompTIA A+ for computer support technicians, and Microsoft Certified System Administrator training. Other areas of study include: operating systems, wireless computing, security, and TCP/IP. Graduates of this program are encouraged to continue their information assurance education at a four-year school designated as a Center of Academic Excellence.