The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC announces start of Promise Pathway Program

    Hagerstown Community College announced on January 13 the start of a Promise Pathway Program. Similar to other promise programs across the country, this initiative is designed to address the financial barriers for high school students who have the academic readiness and commitment to succeed in college, but lack all the necessary financial resources to do so, even if they qualify for federal financial aid. 

  • HCC offers spring late-start classes

    The spring semester is underway at Hagerstown Community College, but there is still time to register for late-start spring classes. Shorter sessions begin February 14, March 13, and March 28. 

  • HCC announces fall 2016 dean’s list

    Hagerstown Community College recently announced its dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must be attending school full-time (12 credits or more) and must maintain a GPA of 3.5 and above.

  • Extended hours this week

    To better serve future and current students, Hagerstown Community College will offer extended hours during the first week of January. From Tuesday, Jan. 3, to Thursday, Jan. 5, student affairs will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. These departments will be open on Saturday, Jan. 7, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

  • HCC Middle College to hold info sessions

    Program information sessions for the STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, medical) Technical Middle College at Hagerstown Community College will be held on Wednesdays, Jan. 4, Jan. 18, Feb. 1, and Feb. 15, at 4 p.m., in the STEM Building, room 409. 

  • HCC graduates seventh class of Police Academy recruits

    Hagerstown Community College recently graduated its seventh class of Police Academy recruits. Following remarks from HCC Police Academy Director David Simonetti, HCC President Guy Altieri, Hagerstown Police Department Chief Victor V. Brito, and student speaker Officer Coty Campbell, students were awarded certificates to commend their achievement. 

Events

  • STEMM Technical Middle College Information Session

    Sessions will be held in the Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) Building, Room 409 (signs will be posted). Parking is available in lot K. For directions and campus map, go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/about-hcc.

    Date:
    Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, January 18, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, May 3, 2017 - 4:00pm
    Wednesday, June 21, 2017 - 4:00pm
  • Hawk Athletes Appreciation Day

    Meet HCC student athletes in the Student Center main dining area from noon to 12:45 p.m. There will be a free pizza party, cheerleaders and coaches, games, prizes, fun, and music.

    Date:
    Thursday, January 19, 2017 - 12:00pm
  • Lip Sync Battle

    You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, November 17, 2016 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 6:30pm
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 26, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 24, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 21, 2016 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 24, 2017 - 5:00pm
  • Whitetail Snowtubing Night

    HCC bus leaves from parking lot “O” at 6 p.m. and returns at 9:30 p.m. Reserve a seat in the Student Activities Office, Student Center room 163. This event is open to HCC students only and is free.

    Date:
    Thursday, January 26, 2017 - 6:00pm
  • Chinese New Year Celebration

    Celebrate Chinese New Year in the Student Center main dining area from 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. on January 30, 2017.

    Date:
    Monday, January 30, 2017 - 11:30am
  • Student Life Fair

    Community organizations with volunteer opportunities and HCC’s student organizations will be set up in the Student Center. Learn how to get involved outside of the classroom.

    Date:
    Tuesday, January 31, 2017 - 11:00am
    Tuesday, January 31, 2017 - 5:00pm