Clubs & Organizations

Current HCC Clubs

AIGA - Graphic Design Club

Students interested in graphic design are encouraged to join this club, which is an official chapter of the professional association for design.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Sean Maher
Contact: stmaher@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the AIGA Club on Facebook.

Aikido Club

The HCC Aikido Club seeks to bring an appreciation of Japanese culture and a basic understanding of Japanese martial arts principles through study, discussion, and the discipline of martial training.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Ron Sulchek
Contact: rsulchek@sulchek.com
 

Anime Club

Anyone from a fan to a fanatic of anime is welcome to join students with similar interests.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Alicia Drumgoole
Contact: amdrumgoole@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Anime Club on Facebook.

Business Club

The HCC Business Club gives members the opportunity to learn, travel, and grow as a business professional.

Faculty/Staff Advisor: 
Jim Pierne
Contact: jgpierne@hagerstowncc.edu

Join Business Club on Facebook.

The Business Club meets each Tuesday, 2:30 - 4 p.m. in the Student Center conference rooms during the Fall and Spring semesters.

Chess Club

The HCC Chess Club welcomes students at any level, from novice to expert. Equipment is supplied.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Brad Shepard
Contact: bgshepard@hagerstowncc.edu

Christian Fellowship Club

Enjoy fellowship, music and exploring teachings of the Bible during the weekly meeting. Currently, the club meets Tuesday evenings at 6 p.m. in the Student Center conference room.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Nancy Thorpe
Contact: nmthorpe@hagerstowncc.edu

Lori Spessard
Contact: ljspessard@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Christian Fellowship Club on Facebook.

English Club

This club is dedicated to enhancing students’ classroom studies and offering literary experiences outside of the classroom. The club is open to students of all majors.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Amanda Miller
Contact: ahmiller@hagerstowncc.edu

Marti Grahl
Contact: mlgrahl@hagerstowncc.edu                                    

Join the English Club on Facebook.

Future Educators Club

This club is open to students interested in pursuing a career in teaching and sponsors field trips, guest speakers, and classroom technology demonstrations. 

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Jeannine Stonestreet
Contact: jlstonestreet@hagerstowncc.edu

Mary Beth Chaney
Contact: mchaney@hagerstowncc.edu

Gaming Club

This group holds weekly video gaming days in the Student Center and hosts gaming tournaments. 

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Jamie Moore
Contact: jemoore@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Gaming Club on Facebook.

Gaming Development Club

This club exists to further develop the skills and abilities of studnets interested in teh video game industry.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
David Maruszewski
Contact: dpmaruszewski@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Gaming Development Club on Facebook.

Information Technology Association (ITA)

This club’s goal is to further the knowledge-base of members beyond the normal academic curriculum and prepare members more aptly for careers within the technology fields.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Karen Weil-Yates
Contact: kdweil-yates@hagerstowncc.edu

Stephen Shank
Contact: spshank@hagerstowncc.edu

International Club

The International Club is open to all students who have an interest in learning about foreign cultures and discussing international topics. This is a growing club so students are encouraged to share ideas about possible club events or activities.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Luis Flores
Contact: ljflores@hagerstowncc.edu

National Organization for Women (NOW)

This club meets to discuss current topics, participates in fundraising activities, hosts speakers and goes of field trips

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Bonnie Errico
Contact: bjerricco@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the NOW Club on Facebook.

Outdoor Adventure Club

This club gives students the chance to get outside and take advantage of the wonderful hiking, biking, rafting and rappelling adventures that our region offers.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Bernie Murphy
Contact: bfmurphy@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Outdoor Adventure Club on Facebook.

Phi Theta Kappa

PTK is an international honor society that encourages scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship. Membership is by invitation.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Ashley Whaley
Contact: anwhaley@hagerstowncc.edu

Jennifer Szczesniak
Contactl: jsszczesniak@hagerstowncc.edu

Visit PTK online or join PTK on Facebook.

*PTK Meeting Times: Member meetings are held the 4th Thursday of each month at 2:30 p.m. in the Career Programs Building, room 128. All members and interested parties are invited to attend.

Officer meetings are scheduled at various times during the month.  

Psychology Club

The Psychology Club promotes the practical application of psychology.

 

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Melinda Kowalsky

Contact: mskowalsky@hagerstowncc.edu

Erick Williams
Contact: erwilliams@hagerstowncc.edu

 

Radiography Club

The Radiography Club is open to students interested in pursuing a career in Radiography and serves as a vehicle to discuss topics relating to radiologic technology and the field of medicine.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Donna Carroll
Contact: dlcarroll@hagerstowncc.edu

Robinwood Players Theater Club

This club’s goals are to promote a better understanding of all aspects of the performing arts genre, and to foster the performing arts at HCC by providing opportunities to explore, develop, create, share, and support both dramatic and musical productions.

Faculty/Staff Advisors:
Robin Shaner
Contact: rlshaner@hagerstowncc.edu

Ben Buhrman
Contact: bbbuhrman@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Robinwood Players Theater Club on Facebook.

S.O.L.O (Supporting Our Little Ones)

This organization does several things to enhance the environment for children: fundraisers to replace or repair equipment, purchase supplies, organize family and friend activities, and a volunteer program to come in and read to children, do an art project, or any other activity or service to benefit the children and the Children’s Learning Center.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Brenda Butler
Contact: blbutler@hagerstowncc.edu

Spectrum Club

The Spectrum Club consists of student who are open to and accepting of all identities. The primary goal is to create a safe environment for students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, questioning, and strait allies.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Ricky Martz
Contact: rlmartz@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Spectrum Club on Facebook.

STEM Club

The STEM Club promotes a better understanding of all aspects of STEM fields and careers and provides educational activities related to STEM (science, technology, engineering, math).

Faculty/Staff Advisors:

Tom Crawford
Contact: tscrawford@hagerstowncc.edu

Veronica Stein
Contact: vmstein@hagerstowncc.edu

Tony Valente
Contact: arvalente@hagerstowncc.edu

Student Government Association (SGA)

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Heather Barnhart
Contact: hbbarnhart@hagerstowncc.edu

Visit the SGA online or join the SGA on Facebook. 

Student Nurses Association (SNA)

The SNA is open to students enrolled in the nursing program and fosters professionalism in nursing.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Teresa Weedon
Contact: tmweedon@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the SNA on Facebook.

Ultimate Frisbee Club

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
Thomas Burge
Contact: tkburge@hagerstowncc.edu

Veterans Club

The Student Veteran’s Club was created to offer support to students who are military veterans or family members.

Faculty/Staff Advisor:
David Bittorf
Contact: dcbittorf@hagerstowncc.edu

Join the Veterans Club on Facebook.


Start your own club

Don't see a club you like? You can start your own:

  1. Find at least two other students who want to be in the club.
  2. Find an HCC employee to be the club advisor
  3. Complete the Club Application Form and turn it into the Student Activities Office