The Latest from HCC

News

  • HCC receives grant for new environmental studies program

    Hagerstown Community College recently received a grant from the Maryland Agricultural Education and Rural Development Assistance Fund (MAERDAF), administered by the Rural Maryland Council, for $29,813, to hire an assistant to help support the development of the new environmental studies program. 

  • HCC accepts 23 new members into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the national honor society at Hagerstown Community College, recently accepted 23 new members. To be eligible for PTK, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and must have completed 12 credit hours of college-level work at HCC. 

  • HCC offers fall late-start classes

    The fall semester is underway at Hagerstown Community College, but there is still time to register for late-start fall classes. Shorter sessions begin October 4, October 23, and November 7. 

  • HCC receives $50,000 for administration of justice scholarships

    Washington County Sheriff’s Office DFC Charles Enders and his wife, Tina Enders, of Hagerstown, recently made a $50,000 donation to the Hagerstown Community College Foundation, in memory of Charles’s brother, Sgt. Richard H. Good, who died suddenly, July 16, at his home. He was 68 years old.

  • HCC extends hours in August for fall registration

    To better serve future and current students, Hagerstown Community College will offer extended hours during August. From Mon., Aug. 21 to Thurs., Aug. 24, Student Services will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m., Friday, Aug. 25, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and Saturday, Aug. 26, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

  • HCC starts new Health Information Management Program

    Starting this fall, Hagerstown Community College will offer an associate of applied science degree in health information management (HIM). Recently approved by the Maryland Higher Education Commission, the program was created in response to the tremendous growth opportunities in the health information management field. 

  • HCC holds reception for TRiO Upward Bound students

    Hagerstown Community College recently held its fifth annual TRiO Upward Bound Reception. The event represents an end-of-the-year celebration for the TRiO Upward Bound students and their achievements during the 2016-2017 school year. 

  • 257th Army Band to perform August 7 at HCC

    The Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association will host the 257th Army Band as part of its annual Red, White and Blue Summer Concert Series, on Monday, August 7, at 6:15 p.m., in HCC’s Alumni Amphitheater. 

Events

  • BINGO

    Located in the Student Center Dining Hall. Free to play. Candy prizes.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 4:30pm
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 4:30pm
  • Lip Sync Battle

    Located in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. You pick the song! Free to enter. Prizes will be awarded.

    Date:
    Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 6:30pm
    Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 6:30pm
  • Family Book Club

    HCC's Family Book Club will be held in the Student Center Skills Lab, Room 170. Listen to a story, complete a craft activity, and enjoy a snack with your preschool - early-elementary age children.

    Date:
    Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00am
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am
    Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Business Club Meeting

    HCC's Business Club will meet in the Student Center, room 141. The topic will be "What it takes to Acquire a Patent, Trademark, or Copyright." The presenter will be Jeanne Singer, Singer Law, located in Hagerstown.

    Date:
    Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 2:30pm
  • Game Night

    Game Night will be held in the Student Center Main Dining Hall. Enjoy music and games for all ages, including Uno, Monopoly, and Apples to Apples, or bring your own games to play.

    Sponsored by the SGA.

    Date:
    Monday, September 25, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, October 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, November 27, 2017 - 5:00pm
    Monday, January 22, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, February 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, March 26, 2018 - 5:00pm
    Monday, April 23, 2018 - 5:00pm